Like Tree15Likes

Thread: Threshold RPM for auto Kits

48 Post(s)

Default Threshold RPM for auto Kits

Aoa Dear fellas...

Wanted to ask a question from experts that can anyone please tell me how to change the threshold rpm level at which a car with automatic cng kit converts?

I have city 2004 and it converts to CNG at 2.5k rpm... I want to decrease this value so that it converts to CNG at around 1200 rpm and I don't need to depress the accelerator to convert it.

The CNG kit I have installed in my car is landi renzo TN1 type.

Please Help me.

Thanks in advance.
    I got these haters like, "when is he gonna stop?" Maybe a minute after never so set your clocks.

Contact to any qualified cng technician,he will do this.
    Never loose hope in life,every step gives u something.

48 Post(s)

yes thats an option of course, but I want to know how is it done?

mechanics' languages are pretty hard to understand...

Need some experts help dudes...
    I got these haters like, "when is he gonna stop?" Maybe a minute after never so set your clocks.

Start Car On CNG!
    Push And Hold The CNG Button Until Corner Lights Turn On Then Accelerate to your desired rpm (1200) And Press It Again!
    Switch car Off And Then Turn On And Check Your Conversion RPM!
    Mod Edit: Commercial selling is not allowed!

Quote Originally Posted by ajjubravo View Post
    Start Car On CNG!
    Push And Hold The CNG Button Until Corner Lights Turn On Then Accelerate to your desired rpm (1200) And Press It Again!
    this is the most common way of doing this. you can also look for an online manual and can find this out from there with complete details on the system.

@ajju
    how to start a car with efi switch on cng to do this?
    it will start on petrol first then switch to cng on acceleration
    RollOnBigMaMa likes this.
    Life is short and very unpredictable just like a Quarter mile .....

Quote Originally Posted by hash4u View Post
    @ajju
    when the car converts onto CNG than you have to press the button so that it activates the programming mode for the kit. after that do as suggested by ajjubravo

48 Post(s)

Thumbs up

Quote Originally Posted by ajjubravo View Post
    Start Car On CNG!
    wow, thanks dude! thanks a million. but yaar just clarify a couple of things:

what do u mean by "corner" lights? indicators will flash?

And by starting the car on CNG, do u mean directly, or starting it on petrol and then converting it as it usually does?

Thanks!

48 Post(s)

Quote Originally Posted by hash4u View Post
    @ajju
    bhai, there is way to start an rfi car directly on cng.
    turn on ur ignition, press the cng swith button and while keeping it pressed, turn ur ignition off, and then on.

Now the petrol light will not flash. Crank ur engine, the car will start on CNG.

Quote Originally Posted by jatoiali View Post
    this is the most common way of doing this. you can also look for an online manual and can find this out from there with complete details on the system.
    Dude, i searched A LOT on the internet. Couldn't find anything regarding this.

Please, if u have a link, post it here so that all friends can get the manual.

I have the user's manual for the TN1 kit with me but it has not got anything regarding the efi converter switch.

48 Post(s)

Quote Originally Posted by jatoiali View Post
    when the car converts onto CNG than you have to press the button so that it activates the programming mode for the kit. after that do as suggested by ajjubravo
    The car converts to petrol if one does so...

48 Post(s)

Bee you em pee...

the method ain't working...

anyone?

when i went to the CNG guys some time ago, i saw the technician doing the thing which 'ajjubravo' described.

they set my car to convert to cng at around 2.5k rpm, so the next day i tried to tweak it myself, and i was able to bring it at around less than 800 rpm (not the exact figure, but it was low, as i had to press the gas pedal during/after cranking else the car would die while turning from petrol to cng)

what i did was that i started the car, pressed and held the conversion button, and revved the car, nothing happened, i tried a few more times, and i was able to reset the conversion rpm !

the verdict is to try the 'button holding technique', it works ! just tweak around, you'll know the right way.
    Honda, Sony, AMD, Android, Grassroots, Hiwatt, Turtle, Dream Theater !

Good topic
    ALWAYS BE POSITIVE

complete booklet with CNG kit, which is usually thrown away has complete procedure on how to change timings. i think you dont need to start vehicle to enter programming mode. correct me if i wrong, while button pressed, if u turn ur key to ON position u will enter the programming mode.
    anti BLING BLING!
    Turbo just kicked in wait, Vtec just kicked in wait, Turbo just kicked in YO!

25 Post(s)

y u wanna change it anyways?
    i never even noticed at what rpm it changes,i just press accelerator n it changes

it is set to over 2000 rpm, and it is difficult to change it from petrol to CNG, so one has to do some effort regarding it.
    Honda, Sony, AMD, Android, Grassroots, Hiwatt, Turtle, Dream Theater !

Quote Originally Posted by teekay_08 View Post
    complete booklet with CNG kit, which is usually thrown away has complete procedure on how to change timings. i think you dont need to start vehicle to enter programming mode. correct me if i wrong, while button pressed, if u turn ur key to ON position u will enter the programming mode.
    that is the same manual that I was talking about. It even comes with the conversion switch if you get it from a proper dealer. I once bought a new switch and it came with the manual that show every procedure about the timing but that was long ago. will try to get this from some online source.

Quote Originally Posted by raging_ravin View Post
    it is set to over 2000 rpm, and it is difficult to change it from petrol to CNG, so one has to do some effort regarding it.
    you can just floor the pedal and the car would convert to CNG. That would be easy I believe!

Cool Got the solution Budyy!

Keep the CNG button pressed and start the engine *then let go of the button*
    - One light will blink, press the button for 5 seconds till the next light turns on.
    - For CNG RPM setting, this will be the fourth and last light
    - When the RPM is at desired position, press the button once. Green light that was blinking will turn off, and the setting is yet to be saved.
    - Keep button pressed for another 5 seconds and you'll see all lights blinking. Now the settings are saved. Turn off the switch and voilaaa....
    you have done it...
    ahmadbila and raging_ravin like this.

for further satisfaction here you go... Swit096 20091202