Community Forum Actions
Page 120 of 136 FirstFirst ... 2070110118119120121122130 ... LastLast
Results 2,381 to 2,400 of 2707
Like Tree942Likes

Thread: 1965 Volkswagen Type-1 (Beetle) D.I.Y. Project (o\_!_/o)

Default 1965 Volkswagen Type-1 (Beetle) D.I.Y. Project (o\_!_/o)

Project Particulars:

Project Subject: "Matching Numbers: Volkswagen Type-1 (Beetle)"
    Project Object: Preserving the Subject "As is"
    Project Type: D.I.Y. (Owner's Own Hands Type)

Subject Particulars:

Make Month/Year: September 1964
    Model Year:1965
    Registration Year: 1965
    Engine Capacity: 1200cc
    Engine Make Month/Year: September 1964
    Stock Color: Pearl White (L87)
    Previous Owners: Two
    Mileage when Acquired: (1)19,222 miles
    Current Mileage: (1)19,679 miles
    Nickname: PATINA
    Owned since: March 06, 2011

Subject Image Profile - When Acquired:

o!o 1965 Volkswagen Type-1 Beetle DIY Project -212465 o!o 1965 Volkswagen Type-1 Beetle DIY Project -212466 o!o 1965 Volkswagen Type-1 Beetle DIY Project -212474

Subject Image Profile - As on January 09, 2012:

o!o 1965 Volkswagen Type-1 Beetle DIY Project -353207 o!o 1965 Volkswagen Type-1 Beetle DIY Project -353208

o!o 1965 Volkswagen Type-1 Beetle DIY Project -353212

As on February 19, 2012 / 7th TDCP 4x4 Cholistan Desert Rally:

Conquerer of the Cholistan Desert - Travel Log from Page 105 onwards
    o!o 1965 Volkswagen Type-1 Beetle DIY Project -372864 o!o 1965 Volkswagen Type-1 Beetle DIY Project -372865

As on April 29, 2012:

o!o 1965 Volkswagen Type-1 Beetle DIY Project -400256
    o!o 1965 Volkswagen Type-1 Beetle DIY Project -400399 o!o 1965 Volkswagen Type-1 Beetle DIY Project -400400

July 21, 2012:

Patina's First International Media Appearance in Brazilian Auto Website Article covering "World Wide VW Beetle Day 2012" Activities from All Around the Globe.

Read Online Article by Brazilian Author 'Alexander Gromow' by Clicking below Link:

World Day of the Volkswagen Beetle 2012 - In Brazil, A Landmark of Change?

Link to Original Portuguese Article: Maxicar.com.br - O seu portal de veiculos antigos

September 23, 2012:
    Final Color Choice: L87, Pearl White in Matt Finish

o!o 1965 Volkswagen Type1 Beetle DIY Project -1049486

November 06, 2012:
    3rd VCCCP Cross Country Rally Journey

1965 Volkswagen Type1 Beetle DIY Project o!o -10730651965 Volkswagen Type1 Beetle DIY Project o!o -1073066

February 2-6, 2013: Trip to Bhurban

1965 volkswagen type1 beetle diy project oo -1122394
    1965 volkswagen type1 beetle diy project oo -1123531
    Pakistan's 1st Ever Online Air-Cooled VW Parts Shop:
    www.pacvwr.forumstopic.com/h2-pacvwr-online-air-cooled-vw-parts-shop

o!o 1965 Volkswagen Type-1 Beetle DIY Project -439642this beetle you buy and restoring ? is it in working condition ? post more pic of it and also during restoring
    Boss from hell

rizvan bhi aap ais ko vebra islamabad sa paint karwana , you see murtaza bhi beetle , sach me uss kaa paint bilkul bhe acha nahi haa
    Boss from hell

Quote Originally Posted by amirhasan View Post
    o!o 1965 Volkswagen Type-1 Beetle DIY Project -439642this beetle you buy and restoring ? is it in working condition ? post more pic of it and also during restoring
    Yes, this one is the one I bought today and yes it is going to be 100% restored on factory specifications. And no @amirhasan its not in working condition. The VW Kabari from whom it was bought today was chopping it this evening when I bought her off with help of @murtaza_murti.

rizvan bhi aap ais ko vebra islamabad sa paint karwana , you see murtaza bhi beetle , sach me uss kaa paint bilkul bhe acha nahi haa
    This one is going to go to Arshad for Body job first, a complete pan off but after its brought on road first here in Multan. Once its road worthy, I will drive it in its current state to Islamabad to Arshad to get the body job done and mechanicals sorted out by Khalid Sb. About paint, I am not sure who am I going to go with, at the moment. But I surely will keep your suggestion in mind. Thanks.

chopping this car ? like we see how ameraicans destroy there old cars, how much it cost you ? and how much money needed to rebuilt it , i also want to buy a beetle but my dad dont allow me , you have now 2 beetle your dad dont beat you ? heheheh, i see a car painted from vebra they do very very neat and clean job and also charge lot of money
    Boss from hell

chopping this car ? like we see how ameraicans destroy there old cars, how much it cost you ? and how much money needed to rebuilt it , i also want to buy a beetle but my dad dont allow me , you have now 2 beetle your dad dont beat you ? heheheh, i see a car painted from vebra they do very very neat and clean job and also charge lot of money
    Chopping as in cutting her up into pieces and sending it off to kabar for recycling into new metal. It cost me 38K in Karachi and would cost me around 60K in Multan with all tokens paid up (two yrs tax is unpaid). For a complete factory spec. restoration, a bug would need around 400K worth of year correct quality parts/labour.

My father used to dislike my hobby until I was dependant on him, now since I earn my own bucks, I am at the liberty of spending the money wherever I want.

rezvan bhi i check the page 407 of VW club , murtaza bhi said that the shop keeper has also choped microbus , i also want to buy a beetle
    Boss from hell

rezvan bhi i check the page 407 of VW club , murtaza bhi said that the shop keeper has also choped microbus , i also want to buy a beetle
    You should look around there in Islamabad/RWP. Go for a post-67 as those are easier to maintain still, with quite a bit of parts availability, as compared to pre-67.

48 Post(s)

actually I am too looking fwd to your detailed analysis of this purchase as you shared for patina almost every thing,.... this thread is a Cook Book of Beetle for any starter now...

whats the condition of engine ?

Quote Originally Posted by reezvaan View Post
    Yes, this one is the one I bought today and yes it is going to be 100% restored on factory specifications. And no @amirhasan its not in working condition. The VW Kabari from whom it was bought today was chopping it this evening when I bought her off with help of @murtaza_murti.

This one is going to go to Arshad for Body job first, a complete pan off but after its brought on road first here in Multan. Once its road worthy, I will drive it in its current state to Islamabad to Arshad to get the body job done and mechanicals sorted out by Khalid Sb. About paint, I am not sure who am I going to go with, at the moment. But I surely will keep your suggestion in mind. Thanks.
    reezvaan likes this.
    http://www.pakwheels.com/forums/road-trips-vacations/214994-bikers-vickytulla-bluehorn-tag-together-visit-beautiful-northern-areas

actually I am too looking fwd to your detailed analysis of this purchase as you shared for patina almost every thing,.... this thread is a Cook Book of Beetle for any starter now...

whats the condition of engine ?
    I like the term Beetle Cook Book

Motor has many parts missing including the ignition system as well as carb/cleaner etc. so the motor isn't in running condition at the moment but it turns freely which is a good sign nonetheless as it means there is major chance that its good from the inside. Good in the sense that its not rusted/eaten out.
    vickytulla likes this.

For one of my VW projects, I needed some hard to find parts. I was astonished when a VW friend from LA, California offered to help on FB the moment I mentioned about the project. A list was exchanged only this evening and I requested to be sent pricing. Was shocked by the response that I received from the fellow American VDubber:

I'll start working on the list today. some things I have, some I may not. What I have, I'll give you at no cost, but shipping. If you would like me to locate items I don't have, I'd only ask for it's actual cost.

Jeffro
    Ever since I have been into this hobby, it has been unbelievable how this little vintage car binds ppl from across the globe in a relationship so strong that they offer their help, most of the times without accepting money in return.

Ppl wonder wonder whats so special about owning a VW? They can stop wondering because its more than just a hobby, its a religion!
    murtaza_murti, ranaomar and lazeez like this.

It has been raining almost all day long here with a little bit of respites in between. There were a lot of Patina related chores which were planned today to be taken care of but unfortunately nothing was possible as we've been busy enjoying the rain However, one chore that could be taken care of was removal of the towel rails and the bumpers from Patina. They say necessity is mother of invention and they are right. With no success in finding the clean bumpers for Patina, I finally decided to get the battered towel rails replicated locally. Even though I have no doubt that the towel rails could very much be replicated the same as the original ones in shape and size and all but I am almost certain that the chrome quality that I might be counting on the newly fabricated towel rails to be provided with, will not be even close. Still, I am persistent with the replication and want to try my luck with this replication.

First to go were the rear bumper's towel rails:

o!o 1965 Volkswagen Type-1 Beetle DIY Project -441896o!o 1965 Volkswagen Type-1 Beetle DIY Project -441897

Rear driver side towel rail is in perfect condition and without a ding or a dint, maintaining its original shape. However the rear passengerside towel rail has a few dings and dints and have rendered out of shape as a result of some previous hitting.

And then it was front bumper's turn:
    o!o 1965 Volkswagen Type-1 Beetle DIY Project -441899o!o 1965 Volkswagen Type-1 Beetle DIY Project -441900o!o 1965 Volkswagen Type-1 Beetle DIY Project -441902

Not only that the blade of the front bumper is out of shape due to impact (read impacts) and due to a weld on the right side at the point where the overrider goes on but also the towel rail is broke at three points, at one its welded and at the other two points the welds have given in so you can see the towel rail in three pieces.

Another attempt on unclogging the Stock - through the spine - Fuel Line. A friend suggested to try the carb cleaner this once. Recipe: Flood/feed the line with the carb cleaner from both ends (front & rear) and let it rest for 4/5 days - followed by a top up everyday. On the 5th day, the compressed air is blown into the line. Pictures:
    o!o 1965 Volkswagen Type-1 Beetle DIY Project -442097o!o 1965 Volkswagen Type-1 Beetle DIY Project -442098

Update on the Local Towel Rail Fabrication:

Went out late in the evening to the local bumper/front grill fabricators. Interviewed a few by showing them the broke towel rails to them and explaining to them the job that was desired. With their help finally dug up a person who could do the job of fabrication of the towel rails, named BAALI/Pipe Bender. He's known to bend the pipes of all spectifications to perfection and runs a professional pipe bending setup here in Multan.

Have planned a visit in the morning to the guy. Lets see if he could bend the stock 18 gauge pipes in shape of towel rails for us with perfection. I, however, have planned to get these made out of 16 gauge steel pipes instead of the stock specification 18 gauge ones.

Will post the progress after I have met the potential fabricator tomorrow. Watch this space.

Ok - Update time on the Local Fabrication of Towel Rails

Went out and met Ustad Iqbal aka Baali, who seemed to be some specialist with bending pipes with quite a setup.

Little chat with him revealed that it was a good idea to go with the SS 16 gauge imported pipe with a chrome finish instead of MS pipe and later getting it chromed, to minimize the bending marks that are formed by the local soft iron dye during the bending process.

VW used brass/zinc alloy dye to bend the towel rails which didn't leave any bending marks/stretches as the bending machines were automated. Those dyes are obviously are not available locally therefore have to go with the local soft iron dyes for bending the SS pipe into Towel Rails.

A costly but great looking imported SS pipe length (20ft.) was bought for 2200/- and was provided to him with the original broke towel rails to use as sample.

He'll deliver the bended towel rails on Saturday eve and then the rails would be finished to mount the blades. Keeping fingers crossed for the quality he could deliver.
    vickytulla likes this.

Default Pakistan's 1st Ever Thermador Swamp Cooler Replica is Born

Quote Originally Posted by reezvaan View Post
    Imported from VWCOP Thread Page 344:

The above two posts provide the necessary background for this post.

Before the replication of Thermador Swamp Cooler came under discussion on the VWCOP thread, I have been doing my home work on the replication myself as Patina's "oldskool" stance would only be complete with the installation of a Thermador Swamp Cooler. I collected quite a bit of data on the swamp coolers through research including dimensions/functional details/replication details so that I could get it replicated back in August. As a matter of fact, pairing with Ustaad Hashim of Multan I did get an outer shell crafted some weeks ago which then went cold as I wanted some electronic element added to the device.

However, today I went over to Ustaad Hashim, with whom I am coupled with for replication of Foxcraft Wheel Skirts as well as Brake Switch Mounting Bracket other than the swamp cooler. After quite a discussion he led me to another replication GURU, Ustaad Rafiq which could possibly help me with "machine finish" replication of Swamp Cooler.

I shared with him all my research details upon which the guy took up the task. I chose to get TWO swamp coolers made instead of one. There is no promised time frame for the production of the same but the promise is there. And about the qualifty of the job, one can never be certain unless something is furnished but the guy seemed to have mastered the art of playing with metal sheets with utmost precision and finish. So I am keeping my fingers crossed until something surfaces from the guy in the coming days.

Here are a few pictures I am putting up as a reference for all of you, in case anyone wanted to give replication a try oneself:
    1965 Volkswagen Type-1 (Beetle) D.I.Y. Project (o\_!_/o) - 316436 1965 Volkswagen Type-1 (Beetle) D.I.Y. Project (o\_!_/o) - 316437 1965 Volkswagen Type-1 (Beetle) D.I.Y. Project (o\_!_/o) - 316438
    Gents:

Nerve breaking wait is over. As some of you would recall, that The Thermador Swamp Cooler was to be replicated locally and for the purpose I had engaged Ustaad Raffique who unfortunately met an accident and things went mum since his wrist was broke. After many weeks, he's back to his swings now and thus today I visited him and we sat and have had a little chat while he started afresh on the replication.

I had done a thorough and long research on the sizes and measurements of the thermador swamp cooler, with the help of friends in the Europe and the continental US and had put together a whole lot of bunch of pictures of the swamp cooler from different angles tagged with measurements when I went to Ustaad Raffique many weeks ago. That research paper bunch proved to be of an exceptional help and it was matter of minutes when the following output was possible. You can actually see the research paper work in one of the pictures to follow.

Here are a couple of pictures of the side walls being cut out of the MS sheet which would then later be used to make the molds.

o!o 1965 Volkswagen Type-1 Beetle DIY Project -443849o!o 1965 Volkswagen Type-1 Beetle DIY Project -443851

Exciting times ahead ppl, watch this space for the upcoming details on the FIRST EVER replication of Thermador Swamp Cooler in Pakistan. Cant wait to see things taking shape!
    vickytulla likes this.

Default Painting the BeKoWa Replica Roof Rack

Let pictures do the talking:
    o!o 1965 Volkswagen Type-1 Beetle DIY Project -446393o!o 1965 Volkswagen Type-1 Beetle DIY Project -446395o!o 1965 Volkswagen Type-1 Beetle DIY Project -446397

With a patch sanded and buffed, I sprayed the two colors that I was considering to paint the roof rack in. But I cant really decide which one to go with among the two. May be you guys could help me decide which color to go with?
    o!o 1965 Volkswagen Type-1 Beetle DIY Project -446407

On the left is the Matte/Flat Black and on the right is Off White. I was thinking I should check Flat Red Oxide too.

My vote is for matte black..
    reezvaan likes this.
    '73 Corona MarkII...

Quote Originally Posted by ansarghani View Post
    My vote is for matte black..
    Yeah thts what my original choice was too but then I thought should try other colors as well and now cant really decide which way to go. Anyway thanks for your vote.

Default Patina's First International Media Appearance - Brazilian Article on WWVWBD

Patina, featured in the Brazilian Article by Alexander Gromow:

World Day of the Volkswagen Beetle 2012 - In Brazil, A Landmark of Change?

The Article is original written in Portuguese but you can use Google Translate to read through the whole article as well as captions used by the author, in this case, Alexander Gromow who is also known as father of World Wide VW Beetle Day - June 22.

Enjoy the article and enjoy Pakistan's representation by PACVWR WWVWBD flyer.