Page 1 of 16 12311 ... LastLast
Like Tree79Likes

Thread: 7AFE swapped into corolla 1998

Default 7AFE swapped into corolla 1998

After swapping 5AFE into my previous Rola 88 here comes my Rola 98 with 7A swap.
    http://www.pakwheels.com/forums/perf...e-swapped-ee90

I was looking for 5AFE but suggested by my Bro and also seeing this such a clean engine with real uncut wiring including original fusebox i chose this one.

My concern was fuel economy so i was considiring 1.3 engine and ended up with 1.8 phew... I hope it gives good economy.

Here comes the Pics.

BTW price of 5A and 7A is same in PIndi Market. Car had Diesel Engine before.

7AFE swapped into corolla 1998 -338172

7AFE swapped into corolla 1998 -338173

7AFE swapped into corolla 1998 -338174

7AFE swapped into corolla 1998 -338175

7AFE swapped into corolla 1998 -338176

7AFE swapped into corolla 1998 -339512
    Speed costs money, how fast can you afford to go.

More PIcs

7AFE swapped into corolla 1998 -338177

7AFE swapped into corolla 1998 -338178

7AFE swapped into corolla 1998 -338179

7AFE swapped into corolla 1998 -338180

7AFE swapped into corolla 1998 -338181

7AFE swapped into corolla 1998 -338182

7AFE swapped into corolla 1998 -338183

7AFE swapped into corolla 1998 -338184

7AFE swapped into corolla 1998 -338185

7AFE swapped into corolla 1998 -338186
    hidalgo and raging_ravin like this.

130 Post(s)

dissy type 7AFE.. before plugging the wiring in, trace every cut connection and appropriately wire it up, your car originally would have the A/C control unit with similar wire colours as the harness.

The dashboard would also have the ECU mount, put the ECU there, and a few wires ending in blanked plugs need to be used - namely the VSS, STA, AC1, B+ etc. The diesel use an automatic trans starter (gear reduction type) direct drive type as this one has is garbage and dies often.

This would be the most dead easy swap you would ever do, everything is in place. The circuit and starter relay are in the fuse box you got with it, along with the ECU fuse, wire it up accordingly.
    raging_ravin likes this.
    ZRS - Zulfiqar Racing Systems ..... PROFESSIONALS at WORK at CRACKWHEELS.COM

Car is still not done and it will be done tom.

Thts all the pics I got for now.

Wiring part well as of now i am gona get it running in the desi way later fix it in proper way Learned this from my previous swap from Xulfiqar bhai :p

7AFE swapped into corolla 1998 -338192
    raging_ravin likes this.

130 Post(s)

Quote Originally Posted by Vaqas1 View Post
    Car is still not done and it will be done tom.

Thts all the pics I got for now.

Wiring part well as of now i am gona get it running in the desi way later fix it in proper way Learned this from my previous swap from Xulfiqar bhai :p
    dont rig it to run the desi way - trace and map every cut up wire of the wiring loom - connect to the car accordingly, you can leave out the AC wiring, but do the fuel pump, ignition power, starter circuit correctly the first time. It will save you headaches of taking out the wiring later on.

The fastest way I did a swap was to do the entire loom on my workbench, Once done I put the wiring in before installing engine (testing circuit continuity with multimeter or line tester), Install the engine, every mechanical linkage, exhaust, cooling system etc, plug wiring connectors to engine sensors, controllers, prime fuel, start engine - have tea.. - Shortest amount of time is spent this way and everything works in perfect harmony.
    Fahadlm and Fahadlm like this.

dissy type 7AFE.. before plugging the wiring in, trace every cut connection and appropriately wire it up, your car originally would have the A/C control unit with similar wire colours as the harness.

The dashboard would also have the ECU mount, put the ECU there, and a few wires ending in blanked plugs need to be used - namely the VSS, STA, AC1, B+ etc. The diesel use an automatic trans starter (gear reduction type) direct drive type as this one has is garbage and dies often.

This would be the most dead easy swap you would ever do, everything is in place. The circuit and starter relay are in the fuse box you got with it, along with the ECU fuse, wire it up accordingly.
    Yes its a dissy type :p

Desi Electrition started working on it and even thought everything was grip to grip but he says some wires are different in Diesel so he was havin issues getting power to injectors he in the end traced it as the original grip had one wire missing...

Circuit opening Relay is in this fusebox? Actually the wires coming from the small grip that got +B Batt ac SPD and all others needs to be wired manually.

This car comes with electronic speedo meter no mechanical wire so i guess we can route SPD cable from there ?

Fuel Pump it seems will be hot wired :p and will be fixed later by adding Circuit opening relay..
    raging_ravin likes this.

Hmm Kia hova ajj kal people not intrested in good swaps ?

We are having one issue the Rev Limiter is not kicking in what can be the reason?

We tried using different 7AFE ECU still Rev Limiter dont kick in.

BTW Car is on petrol
    hidalgo likes this.

130 Post(s)

the ignition power circuit is missing some wires on a diesel but its not very difficult to find the missing AM1 connections from the ignition key - you can buy some old cut up connectors and extract the pins to fill those points and splice the joints. The spd connection wire is in the car and can be found either near the speedo or near the A/C evaporator where the original rpm wiring is found in the diesel corolla. The rpm wire for the petrol version is by the ECU - with the bunch of wires that would be cut.

if you have no rev limiter - check the fault codes as a start

Quote Originally Posted by Vaqas1 View Post
    Hmm Kia hova ajj kal people not intrested in good swaps ?

We are having one issue the Rev Limiter is not kicking in what can be the reason?

We tried using different 7AFE ECU still Rev Limiter dont kick in.

BTW Car is on petrol

do not rev limit without load on flywheel. otherwise you will ruin yr engine quickly.

engine is designed to push load not run free at full speed without load.
    desi mechanics may not agree to this but its true
    Toyota Starlet - Kp60

Why didn't you go for a distributor less 7A motor?
    Work in Progress: Nissan Skyline R-31

From where you bought that engine in Rawalpindi?
    Whats its price and for how much you sold the diesel engine?
    Best of luck for the swap.
    "The more we sweat in peace, the less we bleed in war"

30 Post(s)

looks like a good swap. when can i see it?
    Toyota. Keep a cool head!

the ignition power circuit is missing some wires on a diesel but its not very difficult to find the missing AM1 connections from the ignition key - you can buy some old cut up connectors and extract the pins to fill those points and splice the joints. The spd connection wire is in the car and can be found either near the speedo or near the A/C evaporator where the original rpm wiring is found in the diesel corolla. The rpm wire for the petrol version is by the ECU - with the bunch of wires that would be cut.

if you have no rev limiter - check the fault codes as a start
    The Engine is running now electrification fixed the missing wires. Everything is working now.

Two things I got done from Electrition is not to wire +b and Batt with one iginition wire and use fuse and give direct power to batt and ign power to +B.

He had no idea of circuit opening relay so i dint push him i will do it myself later.

Rev Limiter issues is kinda worrying I mean it seems all wires and sensors are connected I will check it once i have the car home.

Quote Originally Posted by levin View Post
    do not rev limit without load on flywheel. otherwise you will ruin yr engine quickly.

engine is designed to push load not run free at full speed without load.
    desi mechanics may not agree to this but its true
    Okay I have stopped my mechanic from doin these silly tests :p

He is saying he thinks distributor is giving some issues and Engine is not gaining RPM as it should be. So that will be changed today.

Quote Originally Posted by mad_racer View Post
    Why didn't you go for a distributor less 7A motor?
    Better suited for CNG :p

Quote Originally Posted by spectra View Post
    looks like a good swap. when can i see it?
    Saqib bhai jaisa he done hoti hai and main thora gari saaf karlo I will show you

I am in F6 qareeb hee hota ho app sey.
    spectra likes this.

Nice project !
    I AmVoting for PTI................. Are you ?

Nice project. Keep updated here.
    ALWAYS BE POSITIVE

I used these headers they are 4 2 1.

Condition as you can see they are bit rusted and pathan bolta hai sports wala hai :p.

These come without any cover so engine is clean these look rusty. Please suggest what can i do to get them cleaned. Buff these? Paint? or any other method?

The other headers in pic were in better condition but they were cut from joint so didnt use these.

7AFE swapped into corolla 1998 -338739

Page 1 of 16 12311 ... LastLast