Community Forum Actions

Thread: delayed start in morning

Default delayed start in morning

i normally start car at 11'30am after whole night park in open. recently i am getting delayed start cranks as winter approaching. it just makes a click sound,, change the battery was ok for couple of days and again it started doing same, i turned key and wait, suddenly it cranks up after few seconds.
    i think it could be some loose wire, but why only at morning?

i had this problem long time back but it disappeared, now coming back again.

car= ae101(petrol efi)
    Toyota Starlet - Kp60

somebody else had same issue with a vitz.. what was that post link and any conclusions there?
    Toyota Starlet - Kp60

fsx

Morning Winter Blues

I have noticed that a few times in my Khyber91 and Swift89 but it only happened during winters and only upon first start in the morning, no matter what time of day it was.

Though both those cars are sold but still unable to get into the cause.

Weak battery, Ignition Coil problem, quality of plugs and leads and engine oil thickness may be causing it..

Looking forward to this thread
    I am back & still "Keeping my fingers crossed"

i had a smiliar problem in one of my cars and my mechanic told me that its alright and its normal due to winter .

but that car was non-efi, efi cars shouldnt have this kinda problems.

i think its somehing related to the SWITCH or locally know as " SLUF" .
    Life Sucks without VTEC =P

palaykhan: ask sardar electrician, what is this problem am having when you happen to go in that area.. thks.
    Toyota Starlet - Kp60

salam levin bhai,

the only reason the car cranks late in the morning is because of the viscosity of the oil i mean to say when u turn the ignition on and the starter motor starts to apply the force but the oil's viscosity in the morning is higher so it takes more effort in the morning to crank it up.....simple test which will prove that im rite 1, if u put a synthetic oil
    2, just put a 100 watt bulb near the block of the engine in the morning for 15 mins then start the engine ......
    i hope all is good with u bhai and i did solve the problem with the automatic tranny.........
    regards
    HAPPINESS INCREASES AND SADNESS DECREASES WHEN SHARED......

LOL. A bulB!!!!

faisi i really liked yr reply. thumbs up bro.,, well i can jumpstart it with another car that's lil easy than find a bulb.
    Toyota Starlet - Kp60

30 Post(s)

Its the oil
    Toyota. Keep a cool head!

Which AE101 Raa Bhai..
    4AGE or 4AFE?
    well 5w-30 is recommended in Winters...if temp is so much down...
    well You start car early in morning and engine wont crank..
    means u say it just click...click sound comes without cranking engine???...and after some sec it cranks...!
    if yes check for battery terminals , starter main wire and starter solenoid wire as well....this is problem with starter as its not activating...!
    can be a loose connections as well as bad Starter or Bad Starter Relay....it might need new bushing or its solenoid switch is not working properly....!
    Wont look any battery nor so much viscosity issue to me..! if it wont crank and just giving clicks...its something wrong with Starter..!
    TOYOTA Sprinter 86- AE80 DOHC 20v'D TOYOTA Corolla 98- AE101 4AFE 16v

i think u are using 5w30...

i am using the same oil and my car starts after a half crank widouut pressing accelator.
    How to Modify Your car: Put some fiberglass crappy looking bumpers, spoilers are essential for your daily driver, and don't forget the TypeR.

i was more focused on cleaning connectors, seemed to me carbon collected somewhere, i am using zicA synthetic thesedays

sergtr: all cars on zicA. i have this issue with 4age
    Toyota Starlet - Kp60

@Levin

Car needs to be CNG'd
    Koi mujhe janglee kahay, kehta hai toh kehnay bhi deh!

SpiderMan3: are you a cng wholesale dealer or what?
    Toyota Starlet - Kp60

@LEVIN & All

Alwayz try to start you r car at PETROL AND OFF YOUR CAR AT NIGHT AT PETROL IN ORDER TO GET STARTED EARLY AS SOON AS POSSIBLE IN THE MORNING AS WINTER SEASON HAS JUST STARTED.OR DO REMEBER SUBAH GARI START KERNEY KEY BAAD AT LEAST 5-10 MINUTE TAK START RAKHO IN ORDER TO GET YOU ENGINE WARM
    Regards - mR.HaMzaH

^^^^

^o)..bro can wht u talking abt, is there anyother thing on which the car runs and we have to convert it specially to petrol during night.May be u are talking abt CNG cars .

btw LEVIN's car is fully on pertol
    Life Sucks without VTEC =P

@angel_556

sorry bro i didn;t read the post full

@LEVIN

sorry bro check your plug wires properly or get them properlty tuned or changed.No other problem would be possible except this
    Regards - mR.HaMzaH

and in efi cars . gari petrol per band hoti hy and petol per he start hoti hay .
    ^hellyeah^... cherry QQ

I had the same problem with my mehran some three to four years ago. I even changed the battery (which didnt worked at all). In the end the mechanic opened the ignition system or sulf and got the 'bushes' serviced. I know that ur car is efi but i think that this is the main problem plz get the sulf serviced.

As i Say..
    Looks Starting System to me..either connections or starter itself or Starter Relay is messing around....!
    as click sounds then sudden start..it means Solenoid is not activating properly ....!
    TOYOTA Sprinter 86- AE80 DOHC 20v'D TOYOTA Corolla 98- AE101 4AFE 16v