Page 13 of 24 FirstFirst ... 3111213141523 ... LastLast
Like Tree103Likes

Thread: ***Rebuilding my VW type 182 Thing***

Default ***Rebuilding my VW type 182 Thing***

The car is a 1978 1600 VW type 182 (RHD), it was a treat for myself after i recieved some great news today. mashAllah it's a wonderful car and all parts are complete. bought it from here, it was advertised in august 2006 and even back then i wanted it pretty badly,but had my hands full with my 1303 project. All the older members may recall aridsoul wanted this car but the deal never happened, i'm sure he's happy that it went to a VW enthusiast and a friend. It needed to be rescued before it was sold to someone who didn't know its true value.

As with my 1303 this is not to be "Pimped", the emphasis will be on modern engineering and true restoration, i'm not a huge fan of silly alterations

June 5th, 2008
    ***Rebuilding my VW type 182 Thing*** - LOT20938320281229

June 26th 2010
    ***Rebuilding my VW type 182 Thing*** - Image0012
    1. A car is only worth what someone is willing to pay for it, 2. Resale wont save your life in an accident, 3. Genius has limits, stupidity has none, 4. Never argue with an idiot, they will bring you down to their level & beat you with experience, 5. Growing old beats the alternative -- dying young! 6. انّا للہ و انّا الیہ راجعون

hopefully she'll return (unfinished) this week so that i can start playing around with her a little.....
    1. A car is only worth what someone is willing to pay for it, 2. Resale wont save your life in an accident, 3. Genius has limits, stupidity has none, 4. Never argue with an idiot, they will bring you down to their level & beat you with experience, 5. Growing old beats the alternative -- dying young! 6. انّا للہ و انّا الیہ راجعون

Nice project. Best of luck
    One For all n all For One

Good Luck, this time the pace is quick....
    Jayala....

![endif]--

spanCalibri","sans-serif";"@Storm

spanCalibri","sans-serif";"Best of Luck for the restoration of this very rare of this classic. I remember a neighbor in F-10/3 had a similar VW in white color back in 1994-1998 & providing daily services.
    When Nothing else do the Job "ҐЄຊ๓ પฑḭ₥φ౸" has the solution. http://www.facebook.com/team.unimog

^it might be the same car as this one was in that region for a while and was also white till the rebuild.

(Y)
    98% Of teens surround their minds with rap. If you're part of the 2% that stayed with rock , hip hop....lolz..

This is EVIL Bunny

Looking nice Sam. Can't wait till it hits the roads Glad it's keeping you busy. Slow and steady does it all
    Thy name is Sumair Thy love Skyline Thy is very interested in DRIFTING Thy has PHD in drifting from the university of Street Racing!!

@storm ... best of luck with the project.
    In your previous posts you mentioned on several occassions how aloof the previous owners have been with the taxation etc. Please allow me to say when you talk about the previous owners not taking care of the registration, please do not count me in. I am as innocent.

I paid a hafty price in the first place when I bought it off an acquantaince. I got the registration a week after I had paid in full. For the 90% of time I owned the vehicle - i never had a chance to drive owing to my foreign postings. When I learned about the document story, I offered you a couple of options including a) I take the car back no questions asked or; b) I can share the additional cost

It is needless to mention that I am really sorry for all the unwarranted hassle you went through - it can not be expresed in terms of money. My offer of sharing the cost stands - albeit this actually being someone elses mistake or blunder - I however do feel resopnsble since I was the one who passed the vehicle to you.

Lesson learned: Check the documents before even checking the car offered for sale - even if the seller is well known to you

Best of luck with the resto. While I was in Pakistan last, I discovered some bits and bobs remaining from my once large collection of VW parts (not type 182 but the beetle) An ignition swtich with key and lock in perfect condition etc - I will be happy to pass them over to you for your beetle when I am in Pakistan next (inshallah around mid to end November)
    Much peace

Best of luck with the resto
    Matchles G3L 1941, Triumph TRW 1951, Matchless G3LS 1952, Triumph T 100S 1968, Matchless G2 1958, BSA B-31 1952.......... I am insane!

This is for sale 2 lac 60k
    http://www.pakwheels.com/forumreply_az_TopicID!121005~ForumID!12~pw.html

Quote Originally Posted by fedd

***Rebuilding my VW type 182 Thing*** -998368

***Rebuilding my VW type 182 Thing*** -998369

***Rebuilding my VW type 182 Thing*** -998370

***Rebuilding my VW type 182 Thing*** -998371

***Rebuilding my VW type 182 Thing*** -998372

Where is this workshop bro? It is a clean place and thhey are actually using stands for the vehicles. Is it by any chance near Firdous market?
    Death is not the greatest loss in life. The greatest loss is what dies inside us while we live.

BOT ALA
    Run your car not your mouth =)

@razak
    i know what happened to me could have happend to you as well. when i was talkign abotu previous owners you know who i meant right

i know you sold me the car in good faith and to the best of your knowledge buddy.

went for a checkup yesterday, engine has been rebuilt, car has been back to the denter for some finishing work (details), floor has been redone & repainted (again), some panels have been repainted as the previous finish wasn't acceptable.

this week some time i'll be going to source a few electrical parts for it and hopefully i'll be bringing it home soon and parkign it up till i can source more parts for it from the UK.

(pics to follow soon )

***Rebuilding my VW type 182 Thing*** -1006783

***Rebuilding my VW type 182 Thing*** -1006784

***Rebuilding my VW type 182 Thing*** -1006785

***Rebuilding my VW type 182 Thing*** -1006786

***Rebuilding my VW type 182 Thing*** -1006787

***Rebuilding my VW type 182 Thing*** -1006788

Went yesterday to see this car. Had an inspection. Well effort
    Got pictures. If you permit i can post them
    http://www.ahaseeb.com

^sure buddy, feel free. i'm sure you got better pics than me. The project has been halted since khalid will not be working for a few days/weeks as his sister died 2 days ago.

they say a picture is worth a 1000 words:

***Rebuilding my VW type 182 Thing*** -4271

Great !!
    This dog, is dog, a dog, good dog, way dog, to dog, keep dog, an dog, idiot dog, busy dog, for dog, 30 dog, seconds dog! ... Now read without the word dog.

congrats sam,
    both project cars @ home. u can always keep fine tuning them.
    atleast they are driveable and at ur place now
    Life is short and very unpredictable just like a Quarter mile .....

Looking good!!

Page 13 of 24 FirstFirst ... 3111213141523 ... LastLast