Community Forum Actions
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: At what RPM should one shift a gear?

Default At what RPM should one shift a gear?

AoA, Everybody,

I need expert opinion on the following:-
    i drive a Honda City 2011.
    At what rpm should one shift gear.
    Please suggest the rpm which are recommended for both engine as well as economy.
    Waiting for your response.

2k rpm

I shift between 2-3k rpm depending on the driving conditions. No use revving to 3k when the traffic is a dead slow. Going above 3.5-4k isnt good for normal driving, or your engine ... esp on CNG.
    1st Generation Integration

22 Post(s)

use different rpm s depending upon traffic and weather - stay below red zone
    Toyota Starlet - Kp60

after 3k rpm
    and 2k-2.5k for continuous driving

it is also there in the owner's manual of honda city

1st-2nd 20km/h
    2nd-3rd 40km/h
    3rd-4th 60km/h
    4th-5th 80km/h

changing gear early is also not good for engine and mileage as engine has to apply more force

read the manual, its written there
    capsat likes this.

after 3k rpm
    and 2k-2.5k for continuous driving

it is also there in the owner's manual of honda city

1st-2nd 20km/h
    2nd-3rd 40km/h
    3rd-4th 60km/h
    4th-5th 80km/h

Yes and it is a usual practice as well but does it harm the engine if we don't follow this instruction provided in the manual?
    Some people prefer shifting the gear on a high rpm usually when a roaring sound starts coming from the engine. Is that the right practice?

30 Post(s)

more fuel is used on higher rpm
    i shift gears at higher rpm when i want speed
    its auto though

Different Thoughts/Different driving styles...but i prefer shifting on 2 and 3 ...
    "Live Fast, Die Young and Leave a Beautiful CORPSE "
    How much horsepower gain do you get from your NOS sticker ?

2k is best RPM for shifitng gears.

best fuel economy is achieved in cruising under 3000 RPM with less of gear shifting not in 1st gear. Controlling your car via throttle with less use of brakes - ever heard a term "coasting" locate it via google and see if it helps.
    Please read --> http://www.pakwheels.com/forums/site-feedback-suggestions/181978-attention-mods

Best range to change RPM is bw 2.5-3k for economy as well as long life of engine.
    Beshak ALLAH he sy hy sub waqt sy pehly nahin zarorat sy zada nahin.

3k is best in case of honda city if you use good quality oil then it doesn't matter if you change gear at high but before red line and obviously it will ruin you fuel economy if you regularly change gear at high rpm sometime make no difference

199 Post(s)
    18 Thread(s)

@ original poster.

What sort of car do you drive that is SO NUMB that you cannot determine for yourself when to change to a higher gear.
    ZRS - Zulfiqar Racing Systems ..... PROFESSIONALS at WORK at CRACKWHEELS.COM

@ original poster.

What sort of car do you drive that is SO NUMB that you cannot determine for yourself when to change to a higher gear.
    Sir I have already posted that I drive a city 2011. It's not about me determining when to shift but the purpose of this query is well being of my cars engine even if I neglect fuel economy.
    Now for your clarification let me ask you in a different manner.
    " log gari khench k chalatay hain, Kia Aisa kerna acha hai ya bura?"
    I hope you can help in a better manner.

Let me come to the point.
    Since i have grown up, I have observed a lot of relatives and friends driving their cars in a passion that they would shift the gear at a high rpm and that used to be their normal driving style.
    Being very honest, the sound of roaring engine is quite thrilling and i wanted to try it too. I have been very lineant to my car since almost 1 and a half year but since a week, I have been shifting at a rpm around 3. The sound is really thundering and the drive even is amazing but i started having second thoughts about the effects on the engine. Thats why i turned on to experts here on Pakwheels if they can enlighten me with their opinions.
    The purpose of this thread is not to irritate anyone nor i am portraying myself as a fool here who is numb enough ignorant about when to shift gears.
    I have a lot of other questions to clear up but i want to clear this query first .
    napalm likes this.

199 Post(s)
    18 Thread(s)

Shift gears so that it gives you maximum advantage to your own driving style and situation you are presented with, e.g. you wont want to be lugging around idle speed if you are towing something going uphill.similarly you dont want to be F1 driver between traffic lights.
    ZRS - Zulfiqar Racing Systems ..... PROFESSIONALS at WORK at CRACKWHEELS.COM

30 Post(s)

roaring engine sounds at 3k rpm
    try shifting at 6k rpm
    basically if u push your car in each gear it will pick speed more quickly but will use more fuel
    i have auto civic but i keep light foot so it changes gears under 3k,if i keep more light then it changes at 2k rpm,when i use ac then i keep to shift gears under 3k or even under 2k
    when i want speed then i just floor it
    n it shifts gears at higher rpm
    today i wanted the pick,so pushed it near to the floor,n it shifted gears around 5k rpm n while i was just looking around i was on 110speed already
    obviously it consumed alot more fuel this way but still it was cng

I change as follows

1st-2nd 10km/h
    2nd-3rd 30km/h
    3rd-4th 40km/h
    4th-5th 50km/h

and the economy i get is well above 15km/kg within karahci city dirving with a/c on 80%