Old 01-10-2009, 03:13 PM   #1
ultimatewhispers

1,240 days old at PW
Default Foxy Shahzadi running away for good

http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/...for-good-ha-11

mod edit: moved to correct section
ultimatewhispers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 03:19 PM   #2 (permalink)

401 days old at PW

Gooda Gooda!! (Y)(Y)

Thnx for sharing!!
Old 01-10-2009, 03:20 PM   #3 (permalink)

708 days old at PW

Dr Vincent Ioos and Dr Haroon Khan with the 'Foxy Shahzadi'. —Photo by Tanveer Shahzad

ISLAMABAD: A French doctor, who served for three years in the Pakistan Institute of Medical Sciences’ Intensive Care Unit (ICU), is returning home next month, driving a truck art-adorned 1974 Beetle dubbed Foxy Shahzadi to celebrate Pakistan’s artistic and cultural potential; and promoting Pak-French friendship.

Dr Vincent Ioos, who specialises in critical care medicine, will be accompanied in the 10,000km Islamabad-Paris trip by one of his colleagues from Pims, Dr Haroon Khan, as well as Salman Rashid, an IT expert.

The 25-day journey – ‘Art on Wheels Tour’, which starts from Faisal Mosque on October 31 would take the trio to Iran, Turkey, Greece, Italy before ending up in France.

‘We want to highlight the huge cultural potential of Pakistan through indigenous truck art and tell the world that Pakistan is not just about terrorism,’ said Dr Ioos, while proudly showing his cherry red Foxy Shahzadi decorated with landscapes of mountains, waterfalls, flowers and animals and inscribed with truck poetry. The car represents the ethnic heritage of all the four provinces of Pakistan.

The front is decked gloriously with floral motifs; pictures of Quaid-i-Azam and Allama Iqbal; flags of Pakistan and France; and a poetic inscription – Maa Ki Dua Janaat Ki Hawa, translating ‘mother’s prayer is breeze from paradise.’

The team has got the car especially reconditioned for this trip.

Most of the art designing was done by Ustad Habibur Rehman, a painter who the team claims ‘understood the purpose of the journey and incorporated that spirit in his work.’

‘It is a popular common man’s car and for us it is a collector’s item,’ Dr Haroon said explaining the choice of Beetle for the journey.

It took the team four months to prepare the car. Starting with the reconditioning from a scratch by a local mechanic and later being painted at one of the truck paint shops in downtown Rawalpindi, it was a moment of great joy and satisfaction for the team when the car was finally handed over to them around Eid time.

‘It was a fabulous experience seeing the car ready and the reaction on the way back to Islamabad was tremendous,’ Dr Haroon recalled. He still remembers someone exclaiming ‘Shahzadi (princess) is getting out’ as the car rolled out of the paint shop.

‘Almost everyone stared at the car in amazement and appreciated it,’ he said, adding one of the traffic cops in Rawalpindi stopped the traffic to let Foxy Shahzadi clear the crossing.

During the Paris trip, the car would be received in Pakistans embassies in Iran, Turkey, Greece, Italy and France.

All preparations are almost final except for an authorisation for Dr Ioos to travel through restive Balochistan while on the way to Taftan border with Iran.

‘We hope to get the permission well in time,’ Dr Haroon said.

He expects the Pakistani authorities to be considerate enough to help a foreigner, who wants to portray Pakistan positively.

The team is also looking for sponsorships in their effort to project a positive image of Pakistan internationally.
Old 01-10-2009, 03:20 PM   #4 (permalink)

1,733 days old at PW

have seen this car in person, it came to my neighbours house in the last days of ramzan. looked good and sounded great. sad to see another good car leave.
Old 01-10-2009, 03:31 PM   #5 (permalink)

444 days old at PW

Foxy shahzadi really sounds cheap, something like the name of a call girl...

And well this truck art has received a lot of acclaim and accolade, but if you ask me it is ugly and not really related to the culture of Pakistan..
We have a great history which should be brought forward but nothing is done. The indians have tapped all their cultural sites, and we have done nothing, even though we share the same cultural heritage..

And well I guess that security whilst travelling through balochistan and and afghanistan will be a major issue, since the guy is a foreigner and all..

But I digress, wishing those guys the best of luck with their journey, atleast they are doing "something"
Old 01-10-2009, 11:22 PM   #6 (permalink)

1,192 days old at PW

wow
Old 02-10-2009, 04:26 PM   #7 (permalink)

1,051 days old at PW

Retardedbuddy

I disagree with your comments thats its not part of our culture, painting their teucks & buses with colour has always been a tradition where the drivers folks show us whats in their minds and you need to come down to theri metality to assess this art. its a tru reflection of mind of a truck/bus driver who has to drive it for long hours in harsh & bumpy cabins, i am sure these colours give them a relaxtation and things written on these bring a lot of smiles on our faces while passing by. This in fact in my opinion is a soft image of us the Pakistanis

regards
Old 02-10-2009, 05:02 PM   #8 (permalink)

1,733 days old at PW

i'm surprised that the embassies will be officially "recieving" this car on the way.... aur kohi kaam nahi hai? so many of us promote local businesses on our trip (which does more good for the country than any VW could) but none of us are ever entertained in such a way. perhaps it's our culture, it's never that important till a gora is involved.....

@romano
I'm surprised these guys never contacted the VW club of pakistan considering their travelling ambitions. perhaps we should take the first step and find a way to contact them?
Old 02-10-2009, 05:55 PM   #9 (permalink)

1,654 days old at PW

Quote:
Originally Posted by RetardedBuddy

Foxy shahzadi really sounds cheap, something like the name of a call girl... And well this truck art has received a lot of acclaim and accolade, but if you ask me it is ugly and not really related to the culture of Pakistan.. We have a great history which should be brought forward but nothing is done. The indians have tapped all their cultural sites, and we have done nothing, even though we share the same cultural heritage.. And well I guess that security whilst travelling through balochistan and and afghanistan will be a major issue, since the guy is a foreigner and all.. But I digress, wishing those guys the best of luck with their journey, atleast they are doing "something"

I totally agree.
Old 02-10-2009, 06:01 PM   #10 (permalink)

491 days old at PW

(N)(N)(N)

how they spoiled the classic beauty

They should better get bedford truck and have fun.
Old 12-10-2009, 01:10 PM   #11 (permalink)

277 days old at PW

i wud appreciate if ppl put up a topic which can be searched and classify it according to make/model

my topic ended up in recycle bin cause i didnt think of searching for "foxy shezadi" instead of VW Beetle!!!
junee22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2009, 01:15 PM   #12 (permalink)

1,733 days old at PW

the VW club of Pakistan (ISB) will be seeing this car off when it embarks on it's journey. any VW owner wishing to join can contact us.
Old 12-10-2009, 01:16 PM   #13 (permalink)

1,733 days old at PW

Quote:
Originally Posted by junee22

i wud appreciate if ppl put up a topic which can be searched and classify it according to make/model my topic ended up in recycle bin cause i didnt think of searching for "foxy shezadi" instead of VW Beetle!!!

@junee22
you should post up those pics of yours here
Old 12-10-2009, 01:21 PM   #14 (permalink)

277 days old at PW

Old 12-10-2009, 01:24 PM   #15 (permalink)

277 days old at PW

@Storm: added the pics but its seriously frustrating to post something and find it out later that its a repost cause the older post was not named/classified properly

I dont get it why there are "photoshops" and "die cast" collection topics in Classics/cool cars section. i thought that was classified as a "serious" topic!