Survey by Qualaroo
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Query about Grounding Kit for Suzuki Alto F10A

  1. #1
    Senior PakWheeler Follow
    devilz_apprentice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Lahore
    Age
    26
    Posts
    2,840
    Follows
    3
    Following
    0
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0

    Default Query about Grounding Kit for Suzuki Alto F10A

    Salam PWers!
    I am thinking of installing grounding wires/cables in my Alto F10a because of certain voltage and grounding issues that I am facing. Following are those problems:
    1. The sound of the engine changes when switch on the head lights.
    2. Noise/distortion is coming from the speakers when switch on the cassette player. This distortion tends to become louder and sharper when push down the throttle i-e rev the engine more.

    Any advice, recommendations on the said issues and guidelines on purchasing and installing the grounding kit will be deeply appreciated.
    Looking forward to experts on help.

    Regards,
    Faizan.

    Bumper Sticker: "I feed off other people's rage, so drive carefully :-)."

  2. #2
    PakWheeler Follow
    Elien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Karachi
    Age
    24
    Posts
    812
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0

    Default

    dude i think ground wire would not overcome this problem but voltage stablizer might work ... which would cost about 4.5K or more..!

  3. #3
    Senior PakWheeler Follow
    devilz_apprentice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Lahore
    Age
    26
    Posts
    2,840
    Follows
    3
    Following
    0
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Elien View Post
    dude i think ground wire would not overcome this problem but voltage stablizer might work ... which would cost about 4.5K or more..!
    Yes, I know that the voltage stabilizer will work but i m looking for a rather less costly and simplified remedy.
    Bumper Sticker: "I feed off other people's rage, so drive carefully :-)."

  4. #4
    PakWheeler Follow
    Elien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Karachi
    Age
    24
    Posts
    812
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0

    Default

    dude then change ur spark plugs ngk platnium g power series i might reduce the required voltage for ur car..

  5. #5
    PakWheeler Follow
    Elien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Karachi
    Age
    24
    Posts
    812
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0

    Default

    grounding might not be effective in these such cars...

  6. #6
    Senior PakWheeler Follow
    devilz_apprentice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Lahore
    Age
    26
    Posts
    2,840
    Follows
    3
    Following
    0
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Elien View Post
    dude then change ur spark plugs ngk platnium g power series i might reduce the required voltage for ur car..
    How does changing the plugs reduce the voltage? All plugs require the same voltage, it is the current that varies.
    Grounding is the most effective method of reducing the current leakage. Grounding works in every car or in any type of electronic device.
    Bumper Sticker: "I feed off other people's rage, so drive carefully :-)."

  7. #7
    Senior PakWheeler Follow
    smartboy_am's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Karachi
    Age
    25
    Posts
    4,602
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0

    Default

    bro just do big3 for ur car, its not that unless u have a heavy sound system u have to do this, it just charges ur battery quickly and also stabilizes the voltage and flow of current in body through grounding, belive me u would feel a difference by doing it, if u have a digital voltage meter u may chk the volts before and after the big3 upgrade....

    my experience: since i am into car audio so big3 is a neccesity for me, but long ago i didnt had one, before doing bi3 i chkd my volts, on idle it were 13.2-13.5v and full rev 14.2v...

    and after doing big3 my volts were of these ratings idle: 14.4v and with full rev 14.9-15.2v, and my voltage diming provs were finsihed, headlights become a lil more bright........

    NIKON D5100 , AF-S NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR kit lens
    Team DEKA

  8. #8
    Senior PakWheeler Follow
    devilz_apprentice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Lahore
    Age
    26
    Posts
    2,840
    Follows
    3
    Following
    0
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by smartboy_am View Post
    bro just do big3 for ur car, its not that unless u have a heavy sound system u have to do this, it just charges ur battery quickly and also stabilizes the voltage and flow of current in body through grounding, belive me u would feel a difference by doing it, if u have a digital voltage meter u may chk the volts before and after the big3 upgrade....

    my experience: since i am into car audio so big3 is a neccesity for me, but long ago i didnt had one, before doing bi3 i chkd my volts, on idle it were 13.2-13.5v and full rev 14.2v...

    and after doing big3 my volts were of these ratings idle: 14.4v and with full rev 14.9-15.2v, and my voltage diming provs were finsihed, headlights become a lil more bright........

    Thanx for the suggestion and share! I didn't quite get the Alternator-to-positive terminal connection. Can u explain it a bit?
    Bumper Sticker: "I feed off other people's rage, so drive carefully :-)."

  9. #9
    Senior PakWheeler Follow
    speedster_101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Islamabad
    Posts
    3,447
    Follows
    2
    Following
    0
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    1
    Good Answers
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by devilz_apprentice View Post
    Thanx for the suggestion and share! I didn't quite get the Alternator-to-positive terminal connection. Can u explain it a bit?
    This is just to make sure that your alternator is charging the battery without current loss.
    "The more we sweat in peace, the less we bleed in war"

  10. #10
    Senior PakWheeler Follow
    devilz_apprentice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Lahore
    Age
    26
    Posts
    2,840
    Follows
    3
    Following
    0
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by speedster_101 View Post
    This is just to make sure that your alternator is charging the battery without current loss.
    So basically we have to replace the old wire from the alternator to the battery with a new/better wire?
    Bumper Sticker: "I feed off other people's rage, so drive carefully :-)."

  11. #11
    PakWheeler Follow
    Elien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Karachi
    Age
    24
    Posts
    812
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0

    Default

    hmm this means that devilz have installled a very high audio system which might reduce the lower than 12 V..

  12. #12
    PakWheeler Follow
    luckybilal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Islamabad
    Posts
    986
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0

    Default

    @poster pls share your experience of grounding with me too. I am also planing to do it for my car. Though I have no problems with current, but it want to do the big 3. Share cost pls. Which wire you will use copper or silver. I don't know why most of the youtube videos show silver wires. In my opinion silver produces corrosion more than copper.
    Hardware and Software - Engineered to Work Together. ORACLE 11g

  13. #13
    Senior PakWheeler Follow
    smartboy_am's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Karachi
    Age
    25
    Posts
    4,602
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0

    Default

    the postive is used for effective and fast charging, coz previously the positive current comes routd through different places, by this means it comes directly to battery to ensure fast charging, and u may use any gud wiring for it and u dont have to remove the previous connection to the battery....for looking at wiring thickness its always calculated in gauges (awg)...u may use noraml good wire with copper or the one that is used for wiirng amplifiers, 8awg,4awg.etc
    NIKON D5100 , AF-S NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR kit lens
    Team DEKA

  14. #14
    Senior PakWheeler Follow
    devilz_apprentice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Lahore
    Age
    26
    Posts
    2,840
    Follows
    3
    Following
    0
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0

    Default

    @smartboy, thanx for the info! I'll be doing Big 3 as a DIY so that my EE skills can finally come in handy!
    Which wire will u suggest for Big 3? Also, what about grounding the engine block, and certain other components with chassis?
    Bumper Sticker: "I feed off other people's rage, so drive carefully :-)."

  15. #15
    Senior PakWheeler Follow
    devilz_apprentice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Lahore
    Age
    26
    Posts
    2,840
    Follows
    3
    Following
    0
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0

    Default

    Also, can u post up some pics of the wire running from the alternator to the battery's positive terminal?
    Bumper Sticker: "I feed off other people's rage, so drive carefully :-)."

  16. #16
    PakWheeler Follow
    luckybilal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Islamabad
    Posts
    986
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0

    Default

    Grounding engine is not a big task. You need to find stock ground wire that is connected from engine to chassis. Just replace it with new wire. Same is the case with alternator. Just disconnect stock wire and install new one. Not a big task I think.
    Hardware and Software - Engineered to Work Together. ORACLE 11g

  17. #17
    Senior PakWheeler Follow
    smartboy_am's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Karachi
    Age
    25
    Posts
    4,602
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0

    Default

    dont remove the stock wires keep them as it is......
    i am posting some of my pics , the diy i did with my mehran a year ago, first engine grounding in series, and alternator wire then, the wire i used was 8gauge car audio power wire, and for alterantor i used 2 x 10gauge power wire and another 8gauge wire ( later replaced with single wire,but no pics of it)

    Query about Grounding Kit for Suzuki Alto F10A -195200

    Query about Grounding Kit for Suzuki Alto F10A -195201

    Query about Grounding Kit for Suzuki Alto F10A -195202

    Query about Grounding Kit for Suzuki Alto F10A -195203

    Query about Grounding Kit for Suzuki Alto F10A -195204

    Query about Grounding Kit for Suzuki Alto F10A -195205
    NIKON D5100 , AF-S NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR kit lens
    Team DEKA

  18. #18
    PakWheeler Follow
    abbasmithai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Karachi
    Posts
    17
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0

    Default

    @smartboy:whr did u get the wires 4m???

  19. #19
    jz
    jz is offline
    Senior PakWheeler Follow
    jz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Lahore
    Age
    2
    Posts
    26,106
    Follows
    5
    Following
    0
    Mentioned
    185 Post(s)
    Tagged
    12 Thread(s)
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0

    Default

    i can give u volt stabilizer & ground kit as well
    www.facebook.com/performancepartslahore

+ Reply to Thread

User Tag List

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •