Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Problems Posted
    Problems Solved
    Best Answers
    Good Answers

Default CNG Engin tune up - EFI corolla '92

HI

I own a 92 corolla XE (reconditioned '05) and I strongly feel like its performance on CNG is just wrong in terms of acceleration. Even makes a few noises that are aren't observed when on petrol. Acceleration on Petrol has suffered VERY little, if at all. It's been like that for almost a year now and I'm just starting out to fix things!

Here's a background & observations i think are relevant

4EFE stock w/ EFI, auto tranny, landi renzo last serviced about a year back.

***This may not be important information so you may skip***
    Went to Enercon ISB about a month back and the guy changed the spark plugs (which had RUST on them) and added this blockage in the air intake to set it right for CNG. Then fiddled with the ignition timing a bit and asked me to test-drive it. There was absolutely no difference in acceleration and it was knocking badly on petrol. Told him and its got to be the piston rings etc cuz the engine tune up is at its best.

So I got hold of a wrench and decided to retard the timing a bit (atleast to kill the petrol knocking) and surprisingly it even improved the acceleration AND mileage on CNG at the cost of about 15% drop in petrol mileage. (what a dick, that enercon guy). But I still feel like the engine needs some servicing from the inside because it's not how it used to be OR DO I?

***Optional read above this***

-175,000 on the ODO
    -Engine oil has been depleting much much quicker than usual, over the last 3 months.
    -Cold starts are flawless
    -Spark plugs had rust on them (got em changed)
    -Recently got a few seals/rubbers replaced inside the CAM HEAD which has started to leak oil. ( Oil still depleting after the replacement)
    -a low volume tuk tuk sound from under the hood with acceleration (only on Gas)