Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Problems Posted
    Problems Solved
    Best Answers
    Good Answers

Default 2l-te/1kz-te

Hi all,
    I am looking at two 70 series prados, both short wheel base models, one with a 2L-TE motor and the other with the 1KZ-TE. Both these motors I get are head crackers with the 2L-TE being a more regular sampler of that problem. However, it is my understanding that if the cooling system is kept good and the egts are kept under control, both of them seem to do fine. The main issue however is, that I have no experience with either of these engines and from heresay I get that they are both not particulary economical in terms of fuel costs. I have had 3L/5L powered vehicles now and they were very good with diesel(+/-10km/l). I would be grateful if any of you could share his experience with these motors in terms of low end tractability, top end power and the ensuing fuel bills.
    Regards
    Hamzah Faateh
    Flat six flattening things out!

PakWheeler Follow
    Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Problems Posted
    Problems Solved
    Best Answers
    Good Answers

Default ^^

p.s both the vehicles under consideration come with auto gear boxes.

Senior PakWheeler Follow
    Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    153 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    Problems Posted
    Problems Solved
    Best Answers
    Good Answers

Why arent you going for 5L-E
    RIP

Senior PakWheeler Follow
    Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Problems Posted
    Problems Solved
    Best Answers
    Good Answers

No @HamzahF! Please don't kick up this debate again Everything about the 1KZs and 2LTs from power, mileage and the head f**ks is readily available on this forum and others on the net!