Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Problems Posted
    Problems Solved
    Best Answers
    Good Answers

Default Pajero GDI Maintenance

Hello everyone,
    I have recently acquired a 98' Pajero GDI. A 6G74 engine I believe?
    I am fairly new to this type of engine so please bear with me

I am aware that the most common complaint is fuel pump issues, are replacements easily available?

On a side note, the vehicle has been driven rather sparingly and has not been pushed much, so is this something I would have to deal with in the near future or 30-40,000 km down the line? (It has currently clocked around 70,000)

The first thing on my checklist is to decoke the inlet tracts and valves and piston heads, what is the best way to do that ?
    I also read somewhere that I should use liqui moly with it, is that true? Otherwise I am thinking of using synthetic oil.

Also thinking of using a fuel additive every 10,000km and a premium/low octane mix for fuel.

Next, I want to get a compression and injector pressure test done. Where should I go in the Pindi/Islamabad area?
    And where can I get a good quality catch can to slow down or prevent carbon buildup ?

Any other advice on maintaining the vehicle would really be appreciated !

Senior PakWheeler Follow
    Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    3988 Post(s)
    Tagged
    94 Thread(s)
    Problems Posted
    Problems Solved
    Best Answers
    Good Answers

to correctly clean the combustion chambers you need something potent like GM top cleaner, Kreen engine cleaner etc. its very toxic and nasty and is used professionally. You would need someone from dubai etc to bring it in for you.

The fuel high pressure pump is usually good for a long time unless you ommited the fuel filter in the car. As a freindly advice to all my close freinds I never recommended buying a GDI mitsubishi, its a pain to own, operate and service in Pakistan. Its great wherever the manufacturer backed its service.