4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Problems Posted
    Problems Solved
    Best Answers
    Good Answers

Default Depreciation...?

Now I am by no means an economic expert, but why don't cars depreciate in Pakistan as much as they do in other countries...?

No car is effectively "totalled" here, you could repair your rolled over 2002 Honda Civic "januin untouched" for 2-3 Lacs. I've seen shitty 2005 Hondas been sold for 1.2 Million rupees and I go like LOLWUT!

Better buy myself a brand spanking new car for 2/3 lacs more and have peace of mind until I run the car into the ground in 5 years if I have to spend that kind of money. Is it consumer psychology that keeps the market looking for better resale? Although the bitter truth is that cars depreciate to scrap in 5 years and there is no concept of resale value abroad (classics/vintage are the exception). You buy a car, step out of the lot and it will sell a lot less than what you bought it for.

Also I find that most people lie about mileage on their cars. A search of the market place and you will find 2004 model cars with 60,000 KM on the odo. ********!!! Are the local manufactures responsible for artificially inflated used car prices or is it customer sentiment regarding resale value...?

Senior PakWheeler Follow
    Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    3990 Post(s)
    Tagged
    94 Thread(s)
    Problems Posted
    Problems Solved
    Best Answers
    Good Answers

the prices of the asset compared to the buying power of the user and the slackness of safety mandates forces this mentality. The 5 yr figure is good on paper but in most countries the age is dependant on the manufacturer e.g. MB literally advertise their cars to be meant for grandchildren. They make long life vehicles. And most countries in EU have an average life of cars set at 10 years. Not so in the USA, its damned stupid in the USA because of expensive labor costs to service and the plethora of cars available easily on financing.