Aoa everyone. My family has a Cuore. I don't really know much about the service and maintenance history of it.
I noticed that, in the car's AC controls, I couldn't move the blower direction slider (head, feet, defroster etc.) beyond the second option. The driver said that woh mechanic/AC technician nay yeh "band" kardiya because apparently the air can "leak" out of the other vents and because the Cuore's blower isn't strong enough apparently, the slider was blocked.
Then he also told me keh heater bhi band kardiya hay because of some reason, aur recirculation and outside-air walay options ko bhi band kardiya hay.
Surely THIS can't be the solution if air supposedly "leaks" from the vents???? So now, I'm locked out of choosing which vents the air comes out of, the ability to literally turn on the windshield defroster, ability to turn on or off recirculation, and the ability to use the heater in these winters??? In my own car?
Honestly, the reasoning for blocking the functions of the AC controls makes no sense to me. I'm aware that these older cars aren't that sturdy, but surely, if there's a problem with air supposedly leaking from other vents, it is possible to fix the issue rather than doing something seemingly so stupid, like this?
Well, my question here is: is this an incompetent "solution" to the supposed problem? Or is this standard practice for Cuores, and the only viable solution? Because this just seems so dumb to me that I cannot possibly believe that this is the proper solution.
Another thing mechanics have done to the car is set the radiator fan to direct. Now, AFAIK, one time the car did overheat, and after that, the radiator fan was set to direct. This is standard practice for our mechanics for these older cars. While I think it is true that the Cuore can overheat, especially on a hot summer day, surely the thermostat should work in turning the fan on and off when appropriate, no? When Daihatsu designed this car, surely their engineers made sure that the car doesn't overheat?
Is it not possible to make sure the automatic system/thermostat of the radiator fan works properly instead? Because a Cuore needs to warm up after a cold start, but the fan being direct doesn't let the engine warm up properly, even after idling for ~10 mins. Moreover, I'm sure that the fan's life is reduced when constantly running at 100% speed, no?
I live in Karachi, if it matters.