Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Problems Posted
    Problems Solved
    Best Answers
    Good Answers

Default Understanding gear shifting Vitz 2004 Automatic

Hi PakWheelers,

I have recently bought Vitz 2004 1000 CC automatic and just want to learn something which I couldn't figure until yet. I am new to automatic transmission so my question is of novice nature but I hope someone who is experienced can easily and quickly answer this.

I normally drive with light foot and feel gear shifting at the speed of

0 --> 14-16 (then it shifts to 2nd gear)
    14-16 --> 28-30 (then it shifts to 3rd gear)
    28-30 --> 42-44 (then it shifts to 4th gear)

My question is when we say it is a 4 speed vehicle does it mean it has 4 gears? but as the maximum speed is 160 KM/h so does it mean it goes from 42-44 KM/h upto 160 KM/h in 4th gear?

Also if I turn O/D off then how does it affect the gear shifting based on above understanding?

* The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits *

Senior PakWheeler Follow
    Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Problems Posted
    Problems Solved
    Best Answers
    Good Answers

Quote Originally Posted by quaidian View Post
    What I understand from the discussion, for better fuel efficiency one should use light foot, allow gear shifting earlier at lower RPM and keep O/D turned on to fully use the top gear. Is there any harm to engine with this kind of less-aggressive driving?
    no harm
    ~ Be a responsible citizen and always drive safely ~

3. 20-04-2012, 12:42 PM

Site Banned

Reason
    Spam

Senior PakWheeler Follow
    Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    162 Post(s)
    Tagged
    15 Thread(s)
    Problems Posted
    Problems Solved
    Best Answers
    Good Answers

Quote Originally Posted by JuGnO View Post