Firstly i'd like to introduce myself by saying that I've been snooping around the forums for quite some long and have been a voyeur when it comes to seeing some of the crazy setups the SQ guys over here have been putting up,I did come to the last car audio meet and have so far learnt a lot from that and am still learning from all the people who have dedicated so much time and dedication to this hobby.I'd like to say it's an inspiration to see guys such as madhouse12,moonjee,bad_cheetah,stj174 and drshaggy doing so much research and raising the bar to even crazier levels for everyone.
Here's the introductory thread to my car...https://www.pakwheels.com/forums/members-member-rides/196043-my-little-slice-660cc-jdm-heaven-suzuki-kei
So without further a due here's my little setup i'd like to share with you guys and urge for feedback to make things better in an effective manner.
It started off with
Sony Xplod GTX 490USony Xplod GTF 6937 (rear fill)Sony Xplod GTF 1027(front stage)
I got myself the JBL GTO 938 from the Harmon Kardon store in Dubai and then came the 4-channel amplifier by Sony Xplod the GTX 6040 and the pioneer ts-swx 310 shallow mount subwoofer enclosure as I wanted to save space.After that I changed my front speakers to the Infinity Kappa 42.7i and got myself an Alpine headunit i.e the alpine CDE-121l.Then I had a good good bargain in the form of an Akai 2 channel amplifier from a fellow pakwheeler so I added that to power the subwoofer and the speakers are now on the 4 channel amplifier.
Current Setup:Alpine CDE 121l Alpine Electronics of America, Inc.
Pioneer ts-swx 310 subwoofer TS-SWX310 - 12" Preloaded Shallow-Mount Component Subwoofer Enclosure | Pioneer Electronics USAInfinity Kappa 42.7i Infinity Kappa 42.7i 4" 2-way car speakers at Crutchfield.comJBL GTO 938 JBL GTO938 2012 - TopTenREVIEWS
Sony Xplod GTX 6040 XM-GTX6040 : Xplod™ Amplifier : In-Car Entertainment : Sony Middle East & AfricaAkai ACA-2102 AKAI ACA-2102 Amplifiers Reviews
Powering up:Local 8 awg wire for both amplifiers but planning on getting a branded 8 awg wireCustom made fuse box for both amplifiersChanged the battery and got myself a 65 ampere battery which drastically improved the light fluctuation issue I was getting when the subwoofer hit.
Sound Dampening:Got 24 feet of 6mm thick jumbolon sheet and asked my denter to install it in all the four doors and the 5th one at the back which leads to the cargo space.Was very happy with the overall results since the money spent outweighs the gain in performance,the music is so much more clearer and has more depth to it.
The cut out for the inner side of the door...
for the outer side(remember trapping the air by covering the holes is crucial)
The first door takes around an hour and then all the other ones are done around an average of half an hour on each door.
So basically the objective is to slowly creep into the world of SQ without breaking the bank and make the system stand out,would love to hear all your feedback and if anyone has any questions do ask away.Cheers...
Good start bro, the sq is like a drug and once you start towards it, there is no going back. Good Luck
good stuff .. i used this sony amp, woofer, and the front speakers .. all works good .. liked it ..
however the stuff u using in doors absorbs water which can creates rust .. so sealed it with the help of tape ..
taimour bhai ... u r the one who is bringing the SQ back in PWs ...
good start. branded stuff will always sound good and with ur future plans, i am sure u will have a good sq system soon as well.
@scorpion80. bro the jumbolon does not absorb water. check bad_cheetah thread for the experiments he did in this regard
Yes maddy bhai is right, this jumbolon does not absorb water, and it is the best alternate for dynamat.
lol@ i am bringing the sq to pw, oh nahi sir, u must be kidding
Firstly,thanks for the support guys and secondly i'd like to thank madhouse12 on his feedback regarding a couple of my future plans on what to do with the system.
As far as the absorption of water is concerned then the answer is no,I did my homework on this when I was going to do it whilst the only thing it's weak against is that it catches fire very easily.
I would say, what a gusta start, really impressed by the deadening, try to cover inner walls too (I guess you did but no pictures)..
Next step should be HU, and I know you're after some really gusta stuff, good luck with that. And don't forget to upgrade wires, you do alot of homework and I am sure this would pay off in the long run, and I would like to visit that gusta shop on hall road to buy some old school home audio, lets plan a trip..
Do mention your current setup configuration and give us hint about your future projects....!
God bless SQ!!!
Cheers
ok .. good thanks for info .. was not aware of it .. was thinking that its a type of thin hard form ... thanks
in my previous audio setup i used 3M rubberized coating inside doors to reduce rattling .. which i find quite effective however i never recommend it to ppl ... as ppl think it reduces the resale .. for me it increases the metal life
Where did you get 3M tape? Can you post pictures? I am after it.. Double tape, specifically..
In fact I did do the inner walls too but didn't take pictures...yes I am in for a head unit as discussed earlier and we both know that no one here has even a slightest hint of it's existence yet,I've been keeping a very keen eye on it's release which happened recently and I think it's probably the biggest bang for the buck product this year hopefully i'd try and be the first one to get my hands on it.In short,a SQ head unit that doesn't hurt your pockets. =P
Right now since my pre only has one pre out I'm running the front speakers(kappas) on a 80hz HPF,the rear speakers are on full range whilst the subwoofer is running on 50hz LPF,on the headunit the bass is set at 60hz,the treble at 15khz and everything is flat whilst the bass width is set to 4(maximum) which smooths the slope and brings it close to the other frequencies in the sound.
Yes since that one would have 3 RCA outs i'll be needing something like 3xstreetwire RCAs for that as well as some speaker wire,planning to also get a branded 8 awg cable for both the amplifiers.I don't intend to ditch the 938s as they are exceptional 6x9s,very loud and very clean.They'll act as a rear fill after I get something better for a front stage since the kappas though very clear and loud are a wee bit too bright for me so a better front stage is in the cards,my only restriction being my doors are too small for 5/6 inch components and the place where my front speakers fit i.e dashboard has only 4 inch space so i'll have to work my way around that.
Yeah sure anytime bro,i'm just a call away... =P
Goooood start dost ...
Keep on going
thats not tape thats aresole spray ...
however 3m double tape is available here in karachi .. 1k for a pack or so .. it must be available in ur city too .. will get u contact number of a sales person ...
Good to have you here, launching a thread of your Audio Setup.
The best thing about your setup is that you have everything done after planning it, and then the gear you're using is branded which makes a lot of difference, what people usually do it start with desi stuff and then they realize what a mistake it was. But in your case it is good that everything is of much better standards than the desi bullcrap.
There are a couple of suggestions i'd like to make, first regarding the wires, it would be better to get a distribution block rather then running two separate power wires wires for the amplifiers, get a good 4awg wire, run it from the battery + to the distro, and also put in a fuse in there near the battery terminal; then from there on you could use either a 4awg or an 8awg to go to your amplifiers. This would make life easier for both, your electricals and your amplifiers.
Secondly i remember the problem in your sound, it was being pulled towards the back because of the lack of filters in the HU, you'd be pretty pleased to get another HU with the required amount of RCA outputs, so that you could have proper control over the filters, which play a vital role in an audio setup.
Cheers and happy SQ-ing.
Exactly! my first priority is a headunit for now and i'm expecting it'll raise an eyebrow or two.
Excellent idea about the distribution block,I didn't think of that before and it'll definitely save some bucks (Y)
I already have a fusebox near the battery so got that covered.
Nice setup, congratulations mate.
Good setup mate.....Very nice start!Cheetah suggestion is great.....New pre and distro a\makes a visible difference!
Best of luck for Future upgrades!
I just loved your shallow-mount component subwoofer enclosure. I was amazed at how well it managed to handle all the bass notes without producing the extra 'boon boon' which many people love. Thumbs up from my side (Y)
Thank you auns...accuracy> loudness =)
Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2 Beta-5
which is the place in lahore to get original car system??
Sir it depends on what you're looking for and whether if the dealer has that product available with him or not,apart from that some product's copies are mostly sold here so you always have to be on your toes.If you could make a thread and share your budget we could advise you something.