The fact is the Suzuki GS 150 is a 150 CC Engine and NOT a 70 CC Engine, so naturally it will consume much more petrol than a 70 CC. Agar ed 70 cc ki bike 50 ya 60 ka average de rahi ha to phir 150 cc ki to kafi kam degi. Lekin 70 cc long drive par munasib nahi ha, over heat hone ka khatra or phir jab ap 70 ya 80 ki speed ko touch karen to because 70 cc ki bike light hoti ha control kam hota ha high speed per.
150 cc ki bike heavy ha, smooth ha, comfortable ha, or control bhi kafi acha ha high speed per to long drive ke lye behtar ha, or overheat hone ka khatra b nahi ha. Phir ye bike Solid ha or koi damage ka khatra bhi nahi ha.
There are many factors involved in good gas mileage (petrol average). On the long highway driving I was getting between 40 - 45 kms / Liter.
On the mountains however, that average went down to 37 Kms / L.
- If you have two people on the bike PLUS Luggage (back packs) you should expect on highway 37 - 40 Kms per liter
If you have two people on the bike Plus Luggage on mountains then it may be 35 kms per Liter.
On Highway Driving if you know you will get petrol after every 100 kms then DO NOT Fill Tank, only put Rs 500 worth of Petrol (4.5 L) which should take you approximately 175 - 200 Kms. The reason for not filling the Tank is you have approximately 12.5 Liter Tank and if you fill it up then you are carrying an unnecessary load of an extra 7 to 8 Liters of fuel (just think of carrying 5 Pepsi Bottles of 1.5 L each, and see how heavy they are). The more the weight, the more fuel will be consumed so keep the bike light and fill approximately 4.5 - 5 Liters when you stop after 100 - 150 kms since you should be able to get petrol in most places. Study your map carefully as to where you will be going through and know that all small towns or villages have petrol pumps. Its only the CNG that is a problem in most areas.
As for the surety of the petrol being clean, no one can give you that guarantee even in the city so its best to go with 4 - 5 Liters and keep filling as you go.
- Keep your tires properly inflated (rear should be 45 psi). If they are under-inflated you will use more fuel. If over inflated you will have a rough ride and more chance of a tire blow due to the fact the air inside the tire expands when it heats up during the drive.
- Check your tire pressure at least once a day at any tire shop on the road.
- Make sure you change oil after every 1,000 kms. Carry one original Suzuki oil and change oil filter every second oil change. Depending on the distance you plan to travel I don't think you will have more than one oil change half way through your trip. The first you will do before leaving for your trip.
- At every oil change get your Air Filter washed with petrol to remove any dirt so that the engine gets clear air for optimum fuel economy.
- Keep your cruising speed at 70 - 80 kms per hour. If you go faster you will have more air resistance which will force your bike to burn more fuel to maintain the high speed. Ideal speed should be 75 on an open and straight highway.
- Wear Aerodynamic clothing, in other words do not wear a jacket that fills up with air when you drive, the more the air resistance the more petrol you will burn.
- If you bring your speed up to 80 kms on fifth gear your RPM reading should be about 6000 or just under. If you look at the RPM at 6000 then your speed should be just about 80 Kms. This means your tire pressure is fine, oil is clean and your engine is performing at its best.
Perhaps I have added too much detail but if you maintain your bike, your clothing, and your speed you will have good fuel economy.
Also read my post on my trip to Kashmir on Bike:
Bike Tour Karachi - Kashmir, a Futile Attempt
Sulaiman