Sirjee...ub desi admi hain mukhan bhee to istimal karna hai na...ub gadee pay to laga nahi sakta...to aap par hee experiment kar liya...
Jokes apart...I agree with you...although tips I got were very basic ones but I found them to be very important and made a ton of a difference in the result for me...I am sure you must be knowing them...but sirjee one thing I have learn't in my career....a good tip or a good idea can come up from anywhere in the chain...so yes I whole heartidly agree...and I respect your approach even more...plus yes...the learning never stops...
Let me go a step beyond and say that yes every car might require a different approach but also every technique and style of the applicator might require a different product as well...it is all about a car and the user to get comfortable with a product.
Again sir I am on board with you with respect to seriously doing something for the detailing hobby in this country...I wanna see it develop into a serious hobby and evolve into an industry...Inshah Allah...
I got a soft 99 not because it was cheap (it is still far more expensive than Kazmic and formula) but because I was recommended by someone who at that time I though was an expert at shiney cars...then I came across your thread and it changed my world...
However, with the massive rush and overload of "BRANDS" I forced myself not to fall into the pitfall of rushing out and getting whatever I could get my hands on...I did my research and a very extensive one...with respect to:
a. My car...found out that Japanese cars have multi thin coats of paints vs. the Euro and Americans...so some polishes are not going to effect our cars with same result that they give out on Euros and Americans...
Clear coat products vs. Non Clear coat products including single coat products and multi coat products
Darker Color products vs. Ligher Color products vs. All colors
b. What max I can do as an application technique...
c. Some products require special handling interms of weather, storage usage etc. etc....what product pampering I could do and what I couldn't do...
d. Daily Drivers
So my choices came after reading, visiting product websites and reading user comments from a ton of users including time periods, application videos and what not...
Meanwhile I am working on my technique and the regime...trying to get the best out of what I have and knowing what it's limitations are. You must have noticed that I am never bogged down about hiding the swirls I already have on my car but I am only concerned with NOT PUTTING ANY NEW ONES...atleast for the time being...
I plan to do a lot of experimenting next year (atleast with product ranges from four elite brands) before I decide on my favorite or the ideal combo...FOR ME 
Sir thora difference hay hobby mein aur fad mein...you don't want to worry about people who take it up as a fad...concentrate on the ones who want to take it up as a hobby...