They Say necessity is the mother of invention....
Personally i hate the layer of dust which is attracted on the Carnauba treated car paint. This is the reason y i run away from Carnauba despite of its killer depth. No doubt i love carnauba, and after my previous detailing session with Mistero (Omar bhai) when he insisted for 2 coats of GC, i 've become fan of GC. But the "Dust attraction" is the only factor i hate. For which i've googled something which i would like to share here.
The problem of waxing your car and dust attraction
The topic of dust attraction to car paint comes up often and the usual trend of the thread is to lean towards people looking for products they can apply that will reduce and even prevent dust attraction.
The way this would be done is by creating a neutral electric charge to the surface of the paint. Sounds simple... so how would a person do this?
Answer: It's pretty much technologically impossible to do, (at this time), and drive the car in the real world.
First, I'm not a chemist but I've been told by a chemist that the resin used to make clear coat paints in and of itself has a high static charge. That's not a charge that's on the paint, that's a static charge that's in the paint. So it's pretty hard to change the charge of your car's finish without removing the paint, which defeats the purpose of polishing and waxing your car to make it look great.
Second, even if you could create a resin with a neutral charge, the dust, dirt and air-borne contaminant in the air, that fall and land on your precious baby have their own electrical or static charge and you and I cannot wave a wand and remove all the static electrical charge out of all the dust in the air in the world, or at least the part of the world that you drive and park your car.
With current technology with both surface coatings and car appearance products, there's not a lot you can do to 100% prevent dust accumulation because the problem is with two things you cannot change,
- Your car's paint
- The dust and air-borne contaminants in the air around your car
Now the problem is that, Aakhir iska hal kya hai? Bcoz not waxing your car just to avoid dust attraction is not a real world solution because most of us want to protect our car's paint so that it will last over the service life of the car and of course make the paint look good, which in effect makes the car look good, which extrapolated out to the finite degree makes us look good to some degree.
What can you you do?
Here's a few simple things you can do to help prevent dust accumulation.
Water Wipe-down
Water acts as a natural static electricity neutralizer. Wiping your car's highly polished paint with water is an anathema to most of us as we would never do anything that would increase the potential to inflict swirls or scratches into the paint.
Spray Detailers to the rescue...
Spray Detailers are mostly water plus ingredients that provide lubrication, gloss, slickness, shine and in some cases, protection.
So while you and I would never wipe our car down with a water soaked wet rag, we will gently and carefully wipe our car's finish down with a quality spray detailer and this will help to remove static electricity as well as make the paint look great!
Hope this helps...