4 point seat belt, roller cage & helmet-ON & here U go the rally dirver is all set for 6 feet jumps :), Saidhi bhai, what happened there? We want to hear this from the driver!
[/quote]
I guess the two correct expressions are "Lack of Experience" and "Insanely Brave". If the Defender had flipped over, the second expression would have changed to "Insane and Stupid".
I know IJC members witnessing the almost flip laughed their hearts out, some comments and laughters were captured on the video that you quoted, but its OK with me, because this was my first experience of this type of off roading and, despite the fact that I was driving a competitive vehicle, my lack in knowing the tricks of capturing such type of obstacles, made me think that probably with speed, which I am more used to, the obstacle could be run over. With the benefit of hind sight, I know now that I went slightly over board and, if there is a next time, would probably be a little more cautious. However, some of the lost honour was restored once I managed to scale the Patli Gali and IJC members clapped.
I am still for the 4 point seat belts and roll cage, I donāt think I mentioned helmets for IJC type of off roading. I am also strictly against the idea of seating children as passengers while attempting obstacles.
For myself, while driving at IJC's event I was using the normal seat belts with the shoulder strap turned on to the back, making it 2 point harness around waist for keeping me firmly on to the seat. Defender was not fitted with roll cage, which basically convinced me to abort the obstacle under discussion.
OK Guys enough said, I am taking the liberty of quoting Saidhi sahib from the other thread to keep the record level.
Saidhi Sahib, a few words from my end. Firstly hats off to you and your car for putting on a great show! As I was not there, it was rather comforting to watch the video of the jumps as I realised it the whole thing was actually not as dangerous as it appeared from the first two shots we had the privilage of seeing. Furtermore the landing was smoother than I thought it would be...guessing that the LR has a petrol motor pulling a fiber-glass body on beefed up suspension... all of that is obviously going towards keeping things under control.
As you have rightly mentioned "speed" is very tricky on these types of obstacles and is no substitute for experience. My view is that for well equipped newer cars speed is not really required in most cases as the cars are designed to crawl and creep up as long as you get the line right. Where speed is actually required (on less powerful older, not so well equipped vehicles and the "are you nuts" obstacles), some planning is in order as its even more critical to get the line right. One should try and re-confirm line and speed with some of the more experienced people around. I have floated the idea that we should have IJC safety marshalls on the more difficult obstacles to assist and advise the drivers.
Having said that my initial comment on seeing the first pics which I reserved for later on was "saanu janglian te beltaan pichey laa ke, aapey tusee uddaarian maar reh ho"
Please don't mind the hansee mazaaq of IJC as it is all in the spirit of the sport and not meant towards any honour killing of any sort. And if you take a step back and look at the videos from a spectator's perspective you will realise that the springy suspension on the LR does add a funny side to the story!
Anyways, all is well that ends well... we all need to be more safety conscious for the future, kyonke baat global ho chukee hai aur ab maasi veray ka mazzaq nahin hai.... and Saidhi sahib, as promised we hereby declare you an "offroader" ..... you actually did quite a good job, for a Lahori driver in the mountains i.e.