Today i took my father's lancer 1991 for a much needed servicing! i have read many threads on Pakwheels regarding Auto Shield, so i thought why not i should do it to my car as well! Bought some berger Auto shield for Rs.350/= and the whole servicing, shield coating & polishing was done at a service station near my home and costed me approx 900/=! pics are posted below, and your comments are most welcome for the betterment of my car as it has been with us since it was imported to Pakistan
Parked at the station before servicingAfter just the water was used for cleaning all the wheels are out and diesel was sprayed for dust removal the service workers making the Auto Shield Coating (petrol) Diesel Sprayed to protect the upper body from undercoat Interior being cleanedWaiting to be polishedthe final result
Any improvements??
improvements like what? the car is already pretty good! Mashallah!
@omarabdullah022, detailing R.I.P,
dear spraying diesel on the underside does not remove dirt nor does it protect its a misconception, it extremely harmful for rubber bits on the undercarriage, and in fact you are making it more dirty as dirt will stick more to it, better would be to spray nothing at all, and what exactly is this auto shield, your 900rs would have been better spent in buying a quality wax like turtle hard shell wax for same money
Please post the after shots of the polishing. What did you protect the paint with after 'paalishing'? Also did you cover the plastics and rubber from the petroleum based 'coating'..
@xulfiqar...Please remind us the damage done by these practices...
Sent from my GT-I9500 using PW Forums mobile app
not to disappoint the poster, but seems like a sad example of a intact classic lancer being ruined, i fear you maybe following same practices when it comes to maintenance as well, even though the end cost of doing it right are more or less same and achievable during first time
sir i didn't explained the whole process! i am sorry! the diesel was washed after applying! and then the car was coated with the Auto Shield! there a very few rubber parts at the back of the car! mostly suspension mount have rubbers! the shocks have rubbers! thats all which were cautiously protected by using as u know the Pakistani jugaad shopping bad!
i the front i tried to do the same to protect the rubbers! the coat was sprayed carefully to avoid damages!
thanyou for the advice sir! next time i will be even more protective!
okay but these suspension rubbers are very important, please explain about whats in auto shield as never heard about it:)
and i quote it is a very maintained car! it is on its original engine, and is maintained to the very minute details!
Omar sb. i tried my best to cover the rubbers with plastic! i very well know what petroleum products do to the rubber components!
Sir! berger Auto Shield is an anti rust coating for the under body! its a rubberized paint and is mixed with petrol and sprayed under the car to prevent rust! it is also said that also reduces sound produced under the car! it costs about 350/= and is easily available!
Results should be more good if u had washed whole car with car shampoo applied ultimate compound, a wax and polish degreaser on engine interior detailer on interior and tyre endurance gel on tyres and than see the results
Sent from my SM-G900H using PW Forums mobile app
the car was washed with shampoo,( i never wash my cars with surf it gives scratches on the paint )! then was just waxed! will but and do the rest of the work in sha allah on next Sunday! and will post the pics! thankyou for the advice
can i ask where can i get all these products and how much they will cost!
contact @ahmad_yar bhai visit his thread meguiars products at cheapest rate in pakistan,He has all detailing stuff Buy a maguiars car kit worth 3150/-rs And a quick interior detailer worth 700/-rs or maybe 750/-rsIn 4k u will get all these stuff U have to buy copund and clay also but neccessory stuff is car kit and detailer spray
okay sounds good enough, you passed the test lol, good luck maintaining the lancer its a nice car but you can always do better for it
Thanks Tahir Sb. will be contacting the mentioned person shortly!
azraam: sir its not just a nice car! i kind of love it, i mean i have my own lancer 1988, my brother has a pajero, my father has a corolla 2004, but these cars are nothing in value compared to how much my family adores this one!
Uploading some more pics of the same car! the cultus in the Pictures is of my friend! all of these pics are taken today! at KIBGE UOK
the diesel you had sprayed before the cleanup - is a very good way to ensure that the rubber coat never sticks to the surface, the surface preparation is done with heavy duty degreaser/surfactant - 20 times more powerful than the cheapie washing detergents that these guys use.
The car is supposed to be "skirted" with paper first and the underbody then is prepared with tape/plastic/paper coverings so you only spray the metal body, old loose coating is scraped/wire wheeled off so that your coating actually sticks to something solid. If its not fully bonded it creates pockets which then holds water and then your car rusts even with undercoat.
sir it means that u have to take the old coating off before you coat on the new one! by use of paper and etc! the rubber parts were protect using plastic and tape before the coating was done sir! but i didn't scraped the old coat! i will take care of it the next time i ever do this!
It is a very less used car sir usually driven 10Km a week! i guess it will take time to rust! thankyou for your guidance sir! it is always very helpful!
undercoat application is a very long process, the preparation time is sometimes more than a day.
On the internet I see some frames on which the car is placed and then the underbody worked on, sadly this is pakistan, we prefer to cover it with putty and give the next owner a nasty surprise