sign* here i go again
If you read carefully, the sub in question is JBL GTO 1202D.<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com
exactly then y did u talk about w12 gti??? U showed the manual of w12gti , U told me its the best SQ award.Where as we were talking about GTO1202D. sir u talked about W12gti. while i was thinking u talking about GTO 1202D.<o:p></o:p>
Question#1 for enerlevel :Now how much size are you recommending for this sub??? 3 or 4 cuft????
for me bigger enclosure has alwaz worked. if u think u can takeout low bass in a 2 cubic foot box then i think its a big mistake myfriend. u know ur stuff , i dont need to tell u , but after sub and port displacment wats left out of 2 cubic foot is very known to u . (15x15x15) is about 2 cubic foot. which for me is very very very small to produce any decent bass.even the prefab boxes are bigger then this.if u still think a 2 cubic foot box filled or lined with polyfill can outperform a proper 3-4 cubicfoot box then u have mistaken by friend. Dont have space ? then no need for ported, go sealed.
Question #2: Did i ever mentioned you only need polyfill for small boxes?? If yes plz show me where??
you didnt mention it but i did!! and for me tht works the best becuase i dont compensate box size ever!!! if u have space for 3 cubic foot , then go for a sub which can handle tht space well. going for a kicker L7 15" and stuffing it with pollyfill just to trick the sub as if it were in a bigger box is not my STYLE <o:p></o:p>
Question# 3: whats the harm to dampen a larger volume box.??
Y would u Dampen a very large box!! thts exactly my question !!<o:p></o:p>
u dampen the box to trick the sub as if it were playing in a larger box<o:p></o:p>
when u already have a large enough box then y would u put pollyfill?? and the harm u say:-<o:p></o:p>
1) tuning will get out<o:p></o:p>
2) box will become even bigger (might become as a free air environment)<o:p></o:p>
distorts the tuning of the box, bass cancelation?? How...? please show us a valid link to that theory.<o:p></o:p>
by cancellation i didnt mean out of phase. bass cancelation i meant tht polyfill will bring down the tuning and the box internal which might conflict with your subsonic filter tht it will totally bring your tuning out <o:p></o:p>
Question# 5: Whouldnt 75% stuffing cause a pot blockage???
nope. pollyfill is not like a wall or somthing. air can easily pass through it. and stuffing 75% will serve your purpose better which is to make the box appear bigger. and again mesh grill the port and the material will never come out.<o:p></o:p>
Dampening or not dampening, that a matter of personal preference. If you like your enclosure un damped then keep it un damped. I am not recommending any thing to any one.
<o:p></o:p>
yes i respect your views. and thts wat i said , its the original posters wish either to damp it or not.<o:p></o:p>
<o:p>Dampening Causes:
Helps eliminate peaks n dips.
Smoother bass response.
Helps eliminate standing waves.
Helps eliminate BOOM.
Reduces port noise.
Richer n Deeper bass.
Reduces enclosure rattles.
Note: If you dont like to dampen your enclosure, then just dont. </o:p>
<o:p>dips and peaks, Boomy sound are all true characteristics of a ported box. no dampening material can ever remove tht. Enclosure Rattles. you say , rattles show a poorly built box .. by adding 1" of polyfill you cannot make a poorly built box into a good one </o:p>
<o:p>richer and deeper bass is ONLY because u have brought down the tuning point of the box by adding pollyfill and made it appear a bit bigger. and about standing waves , even the corners of the box produces standing waves ,so tht means we should all make round boxes from now on ...... and also multiple of a number produces standing waves (for example 32 x 16 x 8) but i dont hear any complains about tht as welll.....</o:p>
<o:p>CONCLUSION</o:p>
<o:p>if u make a proper box , u dont need to damp it. if u make a box which is small and have some errors in it , then u can damp it. a 2 cubicfoot box with polyfill with errors can never out perform a properly tuned 4 cubic foot box without polyfill. i hope the poster and the viewers get the point i am trying to send them.</o:p>
<o:p>faisi001:-</o:p>
<o:p>you are fairly new in car audio i suppose otherwise u would had known how factory specs sucks... they only try to give u smallest dimensions to attract people thinking its possible to attain big bass in a small box. and then they tell u to fix in polyfill to trick the woofer to make the box appear big. 3001D4 , ALPINE TYPE X , TYPE R they all almost show in their manaul 1 cubicfoot sealed. but have u ever heard these subs in a 1 cubic foot box? Meray bhai yaha 2 cubic foot SEALED mai woofer acha nahi bajta to aap 2 cubic foot Ported ki baat kaar rahay ho??? ask any pakwheeler who knows what they are doing and they will tell you how sucky factory specboxes are!. </o:p>
<o:p>and its a good thing u have an "USTAD" and "pakwheels"
to teach u , otherwise in my days i had to learn the hard way and still learning :)</o:p>
<o:p>p.s:- ager theory say hi banda kaamiyab hota to mai management ki sari books parh kai best manager of the world bun jata
</o:p>
<o:p>but in real life, sari books aik taraf and real l ife experience aik taraf
</o:p>
<o:p>Stj174:-</o:p>
<o:p>i respect your views and never said u were wrong.you have given your experience and i have given mine. I alwaz said its the posters opinion to either dampen or not. </o:p>