Car Selling Experience:
As mentioned above that I have sold my ride, so was thinking to share my car selling experience.
First let me mention its true condition at the time of sale, and quick review of everything:
- Personally imported from Japan. I was first owner, and car was registered in my name.
- All documents were complete and life time token tax paid.
- 4.5 Auction Grade with verifiable auction sheet. Interior Score: A (as good as brand new), Exterior Score: B.
- 100% Major and Minor Non-Accidental, and with 100% genuine odometer reading. Paint on body, and even bumpers: 100% original (rear bumper had some minor scratches, front was surprisingly totally scratch-less, AL HAM DU LILLAH).
- All regular maintenance timely done. Car had Zero faults at time of sale.
- Features included: Toyota Safety Sense (including Automatic High Beams, Anti-Collision assist, Lane assist, Pedestrians assist, Automatic Braking), Traction Control, retractable mirrors with electronic adjustment, adjustable headlights, multimedia steering wheel, rear wiper, company fitted fog lamps (rarely available in VItz here locally), rear view mirror with dimming function, 04 speakers in all 04 doors and 02 tweeters in A Pillars, reverse view built in camera, and many other features.
- Original floor mats and rear seats head rests present.
- Brand New, Original, Light Weight, 15" LENSO Alloy Rims (not cheap, and heavy weight Chinese / Taiwanese rims, resulting in deterioration of suspension, etc.) with Bridgestone tyres.
- Police verification report available with status as "Clear" (although there wasn't any such need, but still, in case...)
- PakWheels inspected vehicle with 92% score.
- Original License plates (02 in No.) and with original smart card. 02 original keys, with original shift lock / unlock key too.
- A neat and clean, well-maintained, carefully driven, Total Genuine (in true sense), family used car.
Last year, in Sept-Oct 2019, I posted ad on Pakwheels used cars section, Pakwheels forums, OLX, even took it to Pakwheels cars mela held last year in Islamabad in Oct 2019, and posted in Jang and Dawn classified ads section, but not even a single response!
The reasons which seem for this:
- No meter reversal (if I had done that and brought the reading towards 20-25,000 Kms, etc. it would have done the magic, and rest assured, no one could have found that meter has been reversed. Condition of the car spoke for itself. If i had reversed the meter, then ALLAH Pa'ak aur apnay zameer ko kya Jawab doón? Zyada paisay to mill jatay (again its the norm of our society) but apni nazro'on mein girr jata, and had to pay back, one way or the other, may be even many many times. What goes around, comes around! But people don't care and bother).
- No compound polish / cutting cream / detailing done at the time of selling, just normal wash and wax throughout its stay with me (if had done all that stuff at the time of selling, then chamak damak ki waha sey price achi mill jati, but in the long run, and if buyer wouldn't had taken care, then paint ka bera garak ho jata. Buyer would have cursed me ultimately).
- I mentioned all the details clearly and truly in the ad description, no fancy wording, jhuut, barha charha k baatein, galat bayani, etc. and to my surprise, no one attended (I think, my ad description was overly detailed. Although its a good thing to mention all details, but it may make potential buyer afraid).
- No fancy, detailed, and beautiful pics, taken from certain angles, so that looks become more beautiful, and gari ki looks khull k samnay aatein (I am poor at photography, but I think, it was my mistake. I must have looked at some of the ads which looked appealing, or even Googled, at least kuj chupana to nai tha, just looks ubhar k aa jatein. Anyways, khaaeer...)
- Address / Location given (its my observation that address / location in the ads does matter. When location is DHA / Bahria, etc. response is different (as was in case of my ex rides FAW V2 and Passo), and when its I-10, response is different (i.e. no response. Vitz was overall better than both of my ex rides, still...)
- No lies and ghumaa phiraa k baatein, what so ever!
It stayed with me till March 2020, and before leaving for Karachi in March 2020, I parked it with a car's dealer. Asked the guy that demand may be 22 +, but he said that its the price of new, unregistered Vitz, so would have to lower my demand. Feeling helpless, had to lower my demand.
He may also be right, but again, there is a difference between my car, vs any Non graded / accident repaired car, with reversed odo, body parts repaired and painted, no maintenance record, lack of Toyota Safety Sense, multimedia steering wheel and fog lamps fitted from factory (my car had all these 03 features), steel rims (vs light weight alloy rims in my ride), non availability of auction sheet / fake / tempered auction sheet, etc. When these factors are considered, then price may not make much difference between my car, and unregistered car.
I was going through some ads in which sellers / showrooms were demanding 2.5-2.4 million PKR for unregistered vehicles, and none mentioned any such thing, which i mentioned for my ride (and it was there too. No galat bayani). Comparison fair, and brabari ki satha p hona chaheye, but no one cares.
Anyways, in mid March 2020, I received a call from showroom that my vehicle has been sold at my demanded price, i.e. 21 lac PKR. I thanked ALLAH ALMIGHTY, and that's everything Technical about selling my ride.
I had bought it around 18.1-18.25 lac PKR including registration, and sold at 21 lac PKR (Had to give 1% commission to the showroom, so technically, I sold it at 20.79 lac PKR). Technically, I did not sell in loss, but at the same time, I also did not sell it at profit too, because I could have sold it at market price / profit if luck had been with me (cars had grown extremely expensive). There is also a market value for everything!
Anyways, I do not think much, otherwise, I won't be able to stay happy, and always feel bad and sad (akhir Insaán hoon, aur shayed itna acha, aur bara zarf ai hai), but then, I think, dainay wali zaat b to ALLAH Paák Hi Ki Thi, meri kya haesiat hai? Ussi Za'at Ney Gunjayesh Di to I upgraded. Na daita, to I would have been stuck on Passo, or even FAW V2, and then I get satisfied, seek Mercy and Forgiveness from ALLAH ALMIGHTY for my shortcomings and kammzarfi, and thank Him.

Yes, one thing makes me feel sad, and that's the appreciation / Tareef coming directly from the showroom (showrooms mostly do not appreciate, rather point out the shortcomings. Although it gives feeling of happiness, but when compare its selling price tag with condition, features and appreciation, this makes feel it)... When I visited the showroom to handover car's documents, all praised the car, and said that it was a well-kept car, and they hadn't seen such car. Then they were curious regarding the rims, looks, etc. and other details. I told them the details, and that's it...
In a nutshell, and to conclude; People want a properly graded / 4.5 grade car, at the price of an accidented / RA / R / RX grade car, and honesty never pays back good here!
Thank you for your time and patience.