AOA,Its my first post ever! Days a go I brought a 1980 corolla lift back edition vehicle is in a very good condition I’m planing to do some mods for better look so i need some help. There is only one issue right now I'm facing is steering it is really hard to move now i know its not a good idea to put eps cuz in future I’ll put a 2jz in it but currently stock is enough for me how can i make the steering wheel soft and where from i can get original steering gear assy,Also i want wide wheels so can I install a 225/45 or 255/35,, and from where i can get negative offset rimsThanks
Congratulations on your purchase! It looks lovely. Please restore it as close to original as possible. Definitely don't rice it with weird rims or spoilers or lip extensions. Engine change, tasteful time period correct alloys and tires should be enough. Enjoy!
AOA, i made this post on my desktop, thanks and yes will restore it close to genuine dont want to put any lips or weird rim just want to make it a little low to the ground and going to shershah to find some good Japanese dish rims (15x8’) max for rear and (15x7’) front.... the main issue im facing is steering wheel any suggestion? How to make it soft...
My family had a 1980 Corolla for decades and it's steering was very light (not powered). Maybe you need to get some greasing done to the steering moving parts. And I think your model is the 1982 Corolla Liftback. The 1980 came with different headlights.
Its 1980 or registration book anyways i have done all greasing opened the steering gear box assy changed the rubber fittings.. now it is better but still not what i have seen in some rollas i think i have to change that assy hope i can find it from shershah on monday
Oh yes, it's a 1980. There is a central crease on the bonnet. Enjoy the drive
Congrats, looks in a pretty good condition.no need for 2jz, just swap in a 4age or 3sge. keep the exterior stock, install fender flares. then you can go for wider wheels. don't go for wide body kind of sh** or over fenders .
Any idea about the price of these assemblies? And what gearbox is suitable with them which have short shifts? Currently its stock 4k in an amazing condition will share image of room but it is old school thing even my cultus have a better torque need to do some spins let me know which one have better performance and availability of party
90-120k either engine with oem tranny. For 4age want RWD so go for T50 tranny...would be expensive like 50k or more and rare to get but perfectly for 4age.Then if you can, get an ae86 rear diff. Not ae85, ae86 diff. As ae85 never came with 4age.For 3sge you can use oem diff. It came with 4wd tranny you can take the fwd transfer case off then it will be Rwd.3sge is heavy so you need stronger suspension. After that you need better brake. Your good to go. Again keep the exterior stock.
Thanks for the details..I changed my mind for now not going for a swap! Currently its a 4k with four speed transmission what if i go for a five speed will it perform well? And i want wide wheels 205-215 will they spin easily? And should i go for coilover cuz i want a little bit low
it can run those wheels but will be underpower. yep you can install 5 speed. coilovers are hard but if you want drop then you can go for them.
Inshallah will update some pics after these upgrades next week.. one more thing about the wheels i wana know, dose the rim’s negative offset effect car handling and safety?
remove side mirrors, spoiler and side skirts.get original bumpers (both), headlights with front grill indicators and tail lights of "liftback model"
5 speed can be installed without any modification, ur ride will be smooth and less noisy.
Can you share images of original bumpers im bit confused are those big bulky black bumpers are original or the chrome once... I personally like chromes
m talking about these bumpers and tail lights.small steel bumpers were also offered but doesnt look appealing.
JazakAllah
no they doesn't, but they need work to fit as oem fenders don't allow wide rims. but still depend upon the rims.
Those bumpers (8 mph) were on the North American model. European models had black steel bumpers and the rest of the world had chrome steel bumpers. Ribbed tail lights might be almost impossible to find here though. Could be fabricated.
Found those bumpers today in shershah, they not cheap 20k for both, the material is not exactly plastic its more like rubber and foam inside condition is also not good and dont know how to restore them plus i found these tail lights vendor says its ke70 Australian version and these are oem.. are these items worthy in this cost
The lights are 1980 sedan rear lights and they are universal lights. Europe, North America, Asia and Australia all had those rear tail lights (source owned a 1980 KE70 sedan for 30 years). The seller is just trying to mint money out of you for the lights. Why not coat your existing bumpers with Rexine or Matt black skin/ coating?