Pushing Limits - Hyd to Lahore - Couple Motorcycle Adventure by Sarwan Jam
Every person is a story, no one feels or enjoy like you do, similarly we did something that was nothing but more than a dream of any couple to do what is not possible. But we made it possible today. This article is not just a article but a guide and motivation, I was the only rider and my wife was on passenger seat but a huge supporter of mine, she was the one who did not let me alone of my passion of motorcycle riding, my humble request to you is to read it as I am writing this with only idea to promote domestic traveling, our country Pakistan is far more beautiful than you think, every Kilometer we passed was more existing than the last one, our trip was of 10days only started at 16th November 2018 to 25th November 2018.
We started our journey by 5:30am from Hyderabad, we had basic safety gears as safety must be kept as a priority, we had good quality helmets, knee & elbow pads, probiker gloves, crash-guard(Leg-guard or SafeGuard), back support seat, ladies footrests and Oil can to be changed later, mobile charger, fog lights & mobile holder and Broadband Cloud and yes a rear Panther Tyre 100/90/18 Tracker tyre and remember the basic rules of riding, do not overtake, remember you are on a regular track not the racing track, hi-speed is not only dangerous but will make you disturbed, use horn and indicators, must use side mirrors, use headphones if you want, we didn't but it can help you relaxed, make sure your brakes are fine well, Journey begun with high hopes of doing what was never done by any couple in my province but when it comes to all Pakistan very few couples have traveled so far like in 1400+Kms, we are one of them in Country.
I was demotivated at first before starting the journey, as some of my friends & relatives were very upset with the idea of Motorcycle touring, I was only supported by My Brother "Sarang Bhaijan" and some other friends, he was only one who said I'm sure you can do it just take care of yourself and bhabi because as it comes to the motorcycle community history you're adding a new chapter in it.
On the other hand Rabia my wife is my crime partner & old friend of mine, it was first time in our surrounding as we were about to do.
Journey begun, we did our breakfast at Hala, people were shocked to see a woman sitting like a man & had helmet, they were like WHO ARE THESE PEOPLE FROM WHERE THEY HAVE COME FROM? but we were happy to see there reaction before the sunrise, such a beautiful reaction it was, we were treated in a special manner, they asked again and again Sain do you need anything else? Please let us know, well we just started moving on, unexpectedly we were passing every Kilometer without knowing where we are, one more thing, we were solely depending on Google Maps, but I had some homework on a paper which stated what city or area comes after this or that area.
It seems very easy but you must need determination to complete what is in your mind, I have Suzuki Gs-150 2014 Model, but no matter what you have whether it is Gs-150, CB-150F, Gxr 600, cruiser, 70CC or 1300CC, what you need is determination.
We did stop after every 75-90KMs, we made several stops of not more than 30minutes, we had puncture kit and Oil(Like mentioned above) and 2 bags, one was tied to the rear carrier & one was holded by my wife. As we werr moving up to the country the weather was becoming colder.
Our country is a heaven for the motorcycle riders seriously because we have different terrains unlike several other countries have.
We traveled 340+ Kilometers from Home to Sukkur where my Cousin Ali Qasimi warmly welcomed us, we staydd over night, next day we woke up bit late and decided to stay that day, next day we left at 7:00am due to fog and cold weather, we rode slow, had tea and breakfast at Sadiqabad and just for tea we stopped at in middle of somewhere for tea.
Our next stop was Bahawalpur, we found Bahawalpur very peaceful and prosperous city, we stayed in Regal Hotel, it was very easy check in they just asked for Copy of Nikkah Nama and NIC so we provided and he handed over keys to us, they served 1st tea as a compliment for free, next day we went out to visit Noor Mahal, it was well preserved under Army Supervision, it felt like we were in the same Mahal of Abbasi's, they had a dummy of king and neat and clean Darbar and two guards standing besides him, mirror in the back, we had Ice Cream there without any surcharge amount, it was same as company, not even 5Rs extra.
Well from Noor Mahal we moved to Bahawalpur Zoo it was clean and very cheap, as per head it was 6Rs only. Our stay in Bahawalpur was very good and I met with a mechanic just besides the Regal Hotel where we were staying, man refused to get pay as he changed oil of my Motorcycle, he said yesterday I saw two helmets and I said our society is changing but when I saw lady wearing helmet it was probably bhabi(my wife) then I said Tabdeeli agayi, he laughed on what he just said, I paid him by saying Inshallah next time I wont pay you sir don't worry..
Well very next day we woke up early and had breakfast at 5:30am and we moved almost 70Km towards Lahore and stopped for tea where some of uncle said "You are Pehelwan but see my daughter (Rabia) is shiviring because of cold" I said Uncle your daughter is far stronger than she looks like" he laughed and said "She is Pakistani Woman stronger but be careful, by the way where are you coming from?" I said Hyderabad Chacha "Apna Mulaq to vekhna hai na Sain"? He said wah wah wah Allah hifazat kare bachon ki, another guy said what bike do you have? Is it 200?, Uncle interrupted no matter what ride it is, they are exploring their country, Salam to both of them. I just met with the uncle again before left, he just boosted our morale, how beautiful people of my country are.
We traveled almost 420+ Km to the lahore, we enjoyed routes, clear roads, we stayed 3 days in lahore, and then 150+ Km to Nankana Sahib on very next day as it was GuruNanak's Birthday at Gurudwara, we sought special permission by the security unit as they said where are you riding from? We said from Hyderabad, all the way on Motorcycle? I said yes Sir, Vahi Guru ki kiripiya se, his face was amazed he smiled and said you may go.. we spent 3 hours there.
We came back and visited each and every places that needed to be visited like Shalamar Bagh, Anarkali Bazar, Tomb of Jahangeer, Minar e Pakistan, Shahi Qilla, Sheesh Mahal, Lahore Museum, Lahore Zoo and some others.
In total our trip ended almost on 1400+Km, it sounds tough as a only couple, under 30years of age traveled without any support of others, but we made it possible just by supporting each other, as you always have partner who entertain you who never let your morale weak or down even with the boys.
You just need determination to do anything and believe me we are feeling like we can do anything by now whatsoever we want, we spent several sunrises & sensets on the roads that made felt us lucky, if we are organized we are together, holding each other then there is nothing in this world to make you weak or low.
World is beautiful out there, get out of your comfortable sofas and beds, our country is far more beautiful than you have ever thought, roads are beautiful and peoples are very appreciative, very supportive and very good, they will make you proud yourself, explore where you are born, where you have grown and living, eating and breathing.
It is was like dream to be on a long trip with my wife, I made it possible and have lot more to visit and Inshallah will make it possible.
At Last I am thankful to Ammar Qureshi & Anif Lala sahib from Trail Green & Aqeeq Ansari Sahib from DatBikerDude. And thankyou all of those who invited us in ghotki, Sadiqabad & Lahore for lunch & dinners although we couldn't come because of being bit behind the schedule but I am thankful to you people, thank you Zulfiqar Laghari sahib who made saveral efforts and hand outs to make my trip clear, my friends who encouraged me and Family to support us, love you all, wait for the comments as our trip is solely based on pictures not videos as our primary focus was enjoyment not filming and we lived in our choice and feeling lot better than before.
In case of any assistance,
Sarwan Jam
(Same as in Facebook)