Assalam u Alaikum All Pakwheel Members,
Time to hit the road again this year. The idea was to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary in Northern Areas of Pakistan. So keeping in mind the season and time on hand we had decided to cut it short and be in Murree and its vicinity. As we all aware of that there are already too many threads on Pak wheels about Murree, but my effort to post this thread is to share my experience and also to update the latest information that might be useful for future visitors. We had a family trip from Lahore to Murree and its vicinity including NathiaGali KPK from 07th to 10th of October 2017.
Murree مری (Bird Eye View)
Marī, meaning "apex” is a colonial era town located on the Pir Panjal Range within the Murree Tehsil, Rawalpindi District in Punjab, Pakistan. It forms outskirt of Islamabad Rawalpindi metropolitan area, and is about 30 km (19 mi) northeast of Islamabad City. It has average altitude of 2,291 meters (7,516 ft).
Murree was founded in 1851 as a sanatorium for British troops. The permanent town of Murree was constructed in 1853 and the church was sanctified shortly thereafter. One main road was established, commonly referred to even in modern times, as the mall. Murree was the summer headquarters of the colonial Punjab Government until 1876 when it was moved to Shimla.
Our Ride & Members:
Honda City Aspire1.5
Myself, Wife & 3 Kids (Aged 6-12 years)
Total Distance covered:
1030 KMs Approx.
Petrol Consumed:
77 liters Approx. with AC
Accommodation:
Prestige Lodges Murree
Rs. 2500 Per day
Itinerary:
Day1 (Saturday)
Lahore To Murree 450 KM
Left Lahore at about 02:30 PM. Our route was via Motorway (M2). Reached Murree Via Murree Express Way at about 10:00 PM. Had dinner at Mann Salwa Restaurant. Surprisingly this time around the quality of food is too good and fresh. Sawaad aa gaya…….. Went for a quick look around the Murree Mall and then came back to hotel as the wind was getting chilled and kids were feeling bit cold.
Day2 (Sunday)
Murree To Nathia Gali 35 KM
Left Prestige Lodges Murree at 11:00 AM, and reached Nathiagali at about 01:00 PM. Enjoyed rejoicing breakfast and tea on the way somewhere in Hazara District at road side Dhaba. Went for some scene sighting and enjoyed the lovely Fall season and amused by the kids playing around as there is nothing else to do much around so we decided to went on towards Aubia.
Nathia Gali To Khanaspur 21 KM
Set towards Khanaspur at about 3:15 PM and reached there at about 4:00 PM. We walk around like vagabond down into the danced pine forest and came back after an hour or so and kids spotted the swings and likewise and they again went for that. Left Khanaspur at about 4:45 PM and head back towards Ayubia.
Khanaspur To Ayubia 03 KM
Head back towards Ayubia and reach there in 10 Minutes. Sat at a roof top of a hotel for snacks and tea. As sun is also setting down and so our energy too. So after about 40 minutes we left for Murree.
Ayubia To Murree 23 KM
We kicked off for Murree at about 5:50 PM and on the way back to Murree we spotted a road side promotional activity by Uniliver for Lipton Tea in KPK. As they were offering a rejoicing cup of tea in just Rs.10, after having couple of cups down once again was behind the wheels with a boosted energy level as we are tea lover. Finally reached Murree by 7:30 PM. Again went to the same restaurant and ordered Chicken Boneless Makhinni Handi cooked in black pepper and green chilies with tandoori roti, oh yes off course buddies……. fresh salad and raita was must. Too Yummmmmmm…………… Again peeps around the Mall Road and finally went back to hotel having cotton candies as desert.
Day3 (Monday)
Murree To Patriata 14 KM
Finally, the Big Day. Our wedding anniversary October the 10th. So we decided to turn this special day into a remember able day. So we decided to went to Patriata Top via road on our own vehicle, as some of our friends had told us that is not an easy task the road is bad and narrow with blinds and sharp turns and steep incline and so on. So we hooked up and Prayed to Almighty Allah for His Blessing & Grace. Rubber started to rolled at about 11:30 AM and had a quick breakfast at Murree Express way at a newly build hotel on the adjacent side of the road near Patriata Mor. Reached Partiata at 1:30 PM. Checked from the locals as many of them gave us vague statements about the road conditions as they said that we must ride the chair lift for this 10 KM stretched. After some rake we finally decided to give it a go. So we headed towards the Patriata Top via road.
Patriata To Patriata Top 10 KM
This 10 KM stretch gave us such a wouderful and amazing experience yes narrow road steep incline with blind sharp turns but beside that its truly amazing and mesmerized rest you can witness yourself once I will upload the clip of the journey to the top. We reached there by 3:00 PM and after having a chit chat with the TDCP guy they told us that the chair lift will last operational max by 4:30 PM as by 4:00 PM they will give a buzz so that all the tourists will be alert and safely be sailed back to Patriata. We went for the so called water fall but we found nothing worth in that so we went for the track downhill into the forest for 40 minutes and went back. Sat along the pine tree onto the bench while kids having fun around riding the horse and riding cars etc. and we were enjoying the cool and pleasant weather and off course thinking to leave before it gets dark. We all enjoyed Pani Puri, Fruit Chat with Pakoras and off course yara tea.
Patriata Top To Murree 24 KM
Finally, at about 5:00 PM we rolled back to Murree at reached Murree by 7:00 PM. Had a good cup of hot coffee at Gloria Jean Murree. Had Dinner at Pizza Hut Murree Mall as celebrate the Big Day as per the wish of my better half to had dinner at Pizza hut and next day lunch at Yum Islamabad. Janab Hukam ki takmeel kerna tu must tha so ki. Aur shopping tu phir hotti hio hai khawateen ki coz anniversary without gift tu hotti nahi anyway just kidding enjoyed ice cream from Chaman Ice cream had lots of fun too.
Day4 (Tuesday)
Murree To Lahore 450 KM
Woke up bit late and checked out at about 12:00 noon and head toward Islamabad and have off course tea and snakes for kids near Bastal on Murree Express Way and reached Rana Market F-7 Islamabad at Yum Restaurant. As we had made reservation prior so we had no issue and wastage of time had lunch and went on the way back to Lahore and reached Lahore by 8:30 PM safe and sound by the Grace of Almighty Allah.
Key Factors:
Keep your CNIC along with you all the time especially during driving. Due to security concern and do take some warm cloths as it was bit chill in the evening and night at this time of season.
Keep our environment clean.
Go Green
Note: Soon will going to share some of the Glimpses captured mainly by me with my buddy Nikon D3200 & IPhone 6S.