I brought a brand new Honda City 1.5 1 and a half month ago and yesterday the only amazing piece of hardware in my car known as 'Immobi' stopped working all of a sudden. I took the car to Honda where they directed me to take the car to tracking world (Lahore) as they had nothing to do with it (it came as a shock to me) . Today i reached tracking world where they inspected my key and told me politely that i had dropped the key or something cos of which the chip inside has stopped working and ofcourse it cannot be claimed in warranty (another shock) . Without wasting any more time i payed 1600 pkr and got a new 'Theli' with the special anti theft immobilizer. I just came back home and dissected my old immobi(with a heavy heart ) to see what's inside it. I couldn't conclude what exactly i got so i thought of sharing all the pictures here. Let the pictures do the talking
They have stated very lame reason for refusal, this device can’t survive a three foot fall? Even if it fell. Which they just assumed.
Keys are bound to fall, they can drop from hands, this crappy device will break down?
There is a very very small sensor type small chip which is the actual circuit and responsible for giving go ahead to ecu to start the car once key in tried turning ON. These keys are very sensitive and if this chip is lost or broken, the immobilizer circuit will not start the car. A duplicate key by a local vendor can be comfortably made within 2k (Karachi). I have baleno and Liana and both are first cars to offer immobilizer in paki market and I have made duplicate keys of both with the reprogrammed sensor in key
Cheap!
Tell you what, i never dropped it:) this substandard immobilizer is being made by tracking world hence the problem.
Thanks for the info mate. I kinda already knew that, i was just trying to tell people how delicate and cheap this immobilizer is which doesn't even has a warranty claim. It shouldn't be in that pouch at the first place , should be in the key just as your Liana has it. According to tracking world Honda asked them not to place it in the key.
My swift key dropped many time but nothing happened.
I also opened swift key and inspected the transponder once. That's looks solid
It's seems like simple aftermarket security system with RFID remote.
For a 18 lakh car.giving such a cheap immobiliser is an insult.jab tak hamarae politicians Indian politicians ki tarhae poorani garia main nahi bethae gae is waqt tak yahi Hona ha .
Honda's quality has really gone down the drain..
What is it
I have never seen such a cheap immobilizer incorporated in any car.Iss say achi tou Paki Wagon R hai iss mamlay mein.
Pathetic
Very very strange. I have taken out immobilizer chip i.e. transponder from my Honda Civic 8th key and it is nothing like this
Honda atlas might be able to register their name in Guines book of world records i reckon. I tried googling the same kind of 'Theli' in a hope that some other car maker might have done the same magic but honestly i failed miserably. Hats off to Honda atlas for making this wonder and a bigger salute to people like me for buying this car with this theli immobi.
I knew this was a desi touch from the moment I saw it.
Likewise bro
share some more pictures
don't make yourself let down. No problem. Sometimes we learn from some experiences. But the question is it must have been given FOC.