Assalam-o-Alikum Ijaz Bhai. I need your guidance regarding Osaka Gas heater. Since the start of this season it was giving error 62 randomly on startup. I cleaned the dust, put some drops of machine oil on motor shaft but the thing that keeps it going was just moving the blower a bit. Whenever it gives error 62, I open the front grill, move the blower a bit and heater started normally. Please note that its not like I am pushing the blower to help it start, even after moving the blower, if the blower is stationary, the heater will start normally. With the time it started giving error 62 more frequently as recently it was giving error 62 1 out of 4 times I started the heater. So I disassembled the heater, removed its fan motor (Its DC 6 volts 10 Amps) opened its front cap and removed the rotor. I noticed two things. First, that the bearings were rattling and had play in them. I had some Japanese NMB 608 bearings lying around from a previous heater project, so I got the bearings replaced and new bearings were press fit. Second, I noticed some carbon like coating at some places on the stator fins, I cleaned the fins with a fine grit sandpaper cleaned everything and assembled the motor. Now when I plugged the motor in the heater, following events were happened:
1) Initially when the heater is plugged to the power, the blower immediately started running on full speed even when the heater is off and nothing on display, turning on the heater dose not changes anything and there was no ignition. With the heater plugged out, I pulled the motor jack from the PCB and again plugged the jack and the heater.
2) Now the blower moves for a fraction of second and got jammed as long as the power is provided to the heater. The blower moves freely after plugging out the power.
3) After two or three attempts, the blower now moves freely with hand regardless of power applied to the heater. The blower will not even try to spin and I am getting error 62.
Now based on your experience, I need your guidance regarding following points. I will be very much grateful for any help regarding any of the points.
1) Is it a motor issue or a PCB issue?
2) If it’s a PCB issue then can you kindly point out at what component should I start troubleshooting?
3) Can you please guide how can I test this motor. It has five wires coming out of it. I am not sure about which wires to apply power to.
4) If it’s a motor issue, then can you please guide how can I open the motor ( the winding side) and what component should I start troubleshooting?
5) the only things I noticed on the PCB are the burnt looking film filter capacitor and missing ZNR, both right beside the main 110v power jack. The heater is powering on normally other than the issue mentioned above. Do they have to do anything with the issue I am experiencing?
Waiting for your helpful response.
JizakAllah Khair