Will call you in the morning Insha Allah.
IMHO paint remover should be the best way.
Nadeem sb,
Thank you so much for giving me time, talking with you was really helpful. i cannot describe yesterday's scene when denter me and my cousin (all were dying of anticipation) to see sand blaster work, and yes, it failed badly (because of wrong tool used). All looked at me as if saying we said that.
Inspecting and preparingThe stem, bearing races
Races seems not good, but compromised at this stage.
Nadeem, Sb. how did that groove occur. A broken ball bearing? Or loose nut below the lower ball race causing the balls to bunch up? seems it had been that way for some time.
Love the way you work. Surgeon like cleanliness and precision.
Powder coating removal from bearing race seat.
First tried with different tools n knife, soldering iron etc, but could not succeed.
had to sand blast the seat area.
That was a quality control issue.
New bike came with this problem.
Was fixed under warranty.
If I remember correctly stem nut was not tight properly, ball fell in the stem area.
Many thanks for your comments.
very organized work i wish i could have such a space
Races and stem in the freezer for some contraction in "-" temperatures.
Cold parts fit easily
Races fitting with in appropriate tools.
cause don't have proper ones.
Balls and races
Finally bearings fixed.
whenever i see the kind of headache you take to the details its like feasting my eyes. great great work done and you showed me a new world with sand blaster (its working nice now) when people did not believe the technique of sand blasting i showed many of them your thread many were awed and speechless my cousin gave the most historical comments if he were present you would have killed him (he said yaar you are bunch of crazy people, i would have given this bike to any mechanic and he would have done all that in 8 or 10 ks) i looked at him hugged and kissed him and said man you are a genius. I could not figure out such a simple solution.
Thanks for the comments
Thanks Yasir sb
Some more blasting
Oh yes! forgot to post some instructions from the manual.
condition of dampers
I was not in a plan to dis assemble them,
so covered rods for blasting.
Love the helmet. I apologize in advance if Im asking something you have already answered, Sir what sort of sand are you using for the sand blasting.Actually I havent gone thru all of this thread..... Im on Page 9 post#170...... Im savoring your thread. Going slow and absorbing as much as I can. ..... Big Fan.
@ aximaxim
i think Basic (Nadeem sb) wont mind my answering this question, yes it is ordinary sand. Nadeem sb's passion and perfection lured me into buying sand blasting gun, i am also using this magic for restoration of a Khyber. (courtesy, kindness and guidance of this gentleman)
as you guys can see there is a spec for fork oil of being 10W20 - which is about the same as light hydraulic oil. It is a yearly maintenance task and takes about half hour to complete.
Then we have the bunch of "yaar paagal to nahin ho - jenyan oil ki baat kuch aur hai" - no matter if the oil looks and feels like tar with grit.