i own a EK Wagon 2007, 3AT, FWD Since 2012, Registered in January 2013 I have Driven 1.2Lacs KM in Pakistan within 2years and a month. as bought on 16Dec 2012...
Can you Believe guys, it gave me mileage as
I Filled up tank, Traveled about 209KMs (Including 30KM Urban Traffic Area), and then refilled the tank.
The Sum i Paid for Fuel was 750Rs. only, when the rate was 78.58.
now you can better measure the mileage. its about 21.90KM/L (Including Urban) Alhamdulillah, Please say MashaAllah :-)(Including Urban).
Here are some Service and Drive tips for EK Lovers:-)
1- Always keep your tank more than half. ab to 1700 ka tank Full hojata hai Yarrr
as per govt announces the rate to be revised on 1st Feb2015 to 68Rs/Litter. because, agr adhy se km tank hoga to (u knw our pakistani impure Petrol) tank k nichy waley hissey mein impurities ikathi hojati hain, that effects the filter and engine too.
2- At your next tuning, Change the Plugs to Iridium Tip Spark Plugs (Denso IK16 or IK20) Market me easily Available han.
3- Mechanic jb Spark plug khol ly, then ask him to stop, give him a Bottle of WD40 Spray, and pour about 100ml of that spray in all the plug holes, and then put the IK16 Denso Japanese only. Better you search for Japanese Spark Plugs, whether if those are second hand, never try the Chinese Denso new. those are expensive as Japanese, but no results.
4- Use Engine Oil 20-50w grade, but if u are not already using this, then please don't change the grade now, that will harm your Engine.
5- Never Ever try to Tune up the Engine from Local Mechanics. i have Seen Mechanics from Peshawar to Multan, no one know what is the exact tapet guage for this Engine, every one says its 0.6MM to 0.8MM but upto my knowledge this guage is only for pakistani assembled Engines, not for this Precious SOHC Engine. Its engine is too good that i have never ever felt need to tune it up, except oil and filters in 2 years. even i have tried many times 140KM/H.
If you have already Tuned up the tapet, then mechanic must have set the guage at 0.8mm. ask him to do it 0.6MM (warning! only try this if you have already tuned up) you will feel the pickup better.
6- Check your tyres are in good condition, bad tyres give a very bad impact on Mileage and Suspension too. keep pressure as 32 for all four tyres.
7- Check the suspension and alignment of the wheels.
8- Start the engine, go to the back of the car, keep hand in front of the silencer, (1ft away from Silencer), check whether the blow of silencer Reaches you hand? if not get the silencer Checked, it might be Chocked, or pipe must be bent. but Try this after step 3 only. if u have not tried step 3, then no need to check this.
9- you can get your car scanned on Computer by professionals, to check whether the sensors are working well, that will also tell you the engine pressure. if there is any thing abnormal, they will adjust using the programs.
10- Don't worry, these all things are not for everyday
you can just check all these atleast at oil change.
Driving Tips:
Despite of the servicing properly, you will need some driving techniques for better mileage, i have seen a Mechanical Engineer, Having Honda Civic 2013 1.8 V-Tec, Fully Loaded, when car is driven by the driver, it gives mileage 15-17KM/L.
As per that driver quoted "mein ne apna poora zor lga lia hai, is car py 15-17km/L se ziada Mileage nai ati. on the other hand, i have travelled from Lahore to Multan with that Engineer driving the car, can you believe guys, Same car gave 19.4KM/L. so Driving Techniques are necessary.
1- never drive like you are on Plane. SOHC engine of EK wagon is so powerfull that, you can beat any Toyota or Honda reaching 0-100KM/H. Paperwork shows that this engine reaches 0-100KM/H within 25 Seconds, why not you try 1minute and 25seconds reaching 0-100KM/H. Try it, You will surely see the difference.
2- keep speed between 50-80KM/h. 660CC engine ki normal speed kya ho skti hai? lekin 55KM/h se km speed py b mileage py effect hoga, kyu k engine py load ata hai.
3- Never keep the accelerator fix at one speed, Drive the car like this as in graphs, Keep these intervals repeating, but dont apply brakes for reducing speed, leave the accelerator, car will slowly reduce the speed, then again reach 80KM/h very slowly.

4- Try Reducing the Usage of Brakes. jahan tk apki nzr kam krti hai wahan tk dekho k agey apko ktni brake lgany ki zrurt pry gi, or koshish ye kro k brake lgany ki bjaye ap accelerator se paon utha lo, is trh apko brake lgany ki zrurt km pry gi.
But Brothers brake ki phr b zrurt pry to lgani zrur hai

InShort Our Desi Language, Gaaaari ko Latkaaaa k chalao to mileage zyada ayegi....
This is the major reason of the mileage.
even i have got 19KM/L mileage on the Toyota X2001 model, recently, with only using the step 3and4 driving techniques. and the owner of that X says, he is driving that X since 7years, but he never got more than 14KM/L.
Try These. i am sure you will love EK Wagon.
Another tip for EK lovers, Never neglect the Body parts, take care of them too. those are too expensive in Pakistan.
Only front Bumper Costs 22000Rs. that too Second hand.
another thing, if you want my Mechanic to check your car, then i can help you. opal_media@yahoo.com, Skype:usama.zafar8696
Hope you guys Enjoy the ride with lowest mileage. Lets Compete for the mileage.? what say you guys.? my target is 29KM/L.