I own a FACELIFT Grande and loving it since Day 1. I agree that its a bit on
Higher side but if you study the options and market demographics of Pakistan especially in 1.8L segment of cars, you're left with only 2 options either Civic or Grande. And they both are making full use of the monopoly and their prices are close to each other. But you have to accept the fact, you can't really do much about it either you buy at the cost or just look for relative base Variants....
Then comes 1.6L Altis. I remember, I was at Montgomery to get my bumper kit fitted and there was one guy who just came in his GLI Auto brand new, approached me to ask a bit of mods and said that...
" bhai ma bhi Grande ley raha tha but mere bhai ne mana kar dya k sirf 0.6cc ka farak ha baaki saari gaari same ha "
This remark literally got me in shock and I was confused either to laugh at him or show concerns but in the end, ignored with good wishes and Mubarakbaad.
I'm discussing this matter here because there's a HUGE DIFFERENCE in specifications, technologies, output and economy among all these Corolla Variants which people normally don't have knowledge about but here on Pakwheels, people do have knowledge and I'm sure they know already...
Coming to 1.6L Altis vs 1.8L Grande
I upgraded from 1.6L ( 2016 ) which was basically a Gli with Alloy rims and ZR-FE engine. Everything was same but this 0.3L made a huge difference in all aspects from Gli. But 1.6L FACELIFT Altis is a brilliant upgrade. It now has most of the top-of-the-line variant features and does feel premium and I support the claim that
" 1.6L Altis does prove and justifies its worth "
Coming to Grande and I'm not sure what is the price difference between these two but it's actually worth the upgrade. Be it 4 lakhs or 3. My first impression when I first stepped in to take delivery of Grande was that its pedal response is remarkable and surprisingly the cabin is more insulated than 1.6L Altis. And talking about these additional SPORTS MODE, TRACTION CONTROL, VSC etc tweaks which I always believed to be just gimmicks, actually proved their potential when I was aggressively testing in safe environment the grip of car after lowering the car by 2 inches through Lowering Springs.
I could see the orange light blinking upon steering the car harshly on 80/90 kmph roundabout, car was behaving differently, making sure it does not tail and a combined effect of EXCELLENT ROAD GRIP on cornering etc. I'm absolutely sure the scenario would've been different of a vehicle without all these electronic tweaks.
Other than that the car is equipped with many other goodies SUNROOF, OEM FOGS, BI-Beam auto levelling Headlights ( works wonders on hilly areas
), etc.
1.8L Grande justifies the difference in price but that does not mean 1.6L is a crap or someone who owns it is Gareeb and vice versa, if you do not like the goodies Grande offers even though you have the budget for it you can opt for it and its still a value for money. And also, if someone has paid 4 lakhs more for a COROLLA Grande, he's not stupid or filthy rich as well... Both variants justify their prices... !
I hope this discussion concludes here....
And btw, Nothing beats the QUALITY, CLARITY and cut off output of an OEM Foglight