Hello fellow pakwheelers,
Here comes another review after me reviewing PKDM Suzuki Cultus 2018.
First thing first, i just sold my pristine condition Honda Civic 2011 because i was tired of refueling it every week and been spending too much on it. With Launch of Suzuki Alto 2019 on 15th June i made up my mind to get my hands on its top variant which is VXL AGS. Sold the Civic a week later and went straight to suzuki showroom to buy one but to my surprise the suzuki guys had a face (sir app ewayien moon utha ker agaye hain dafa hojayien yahan say 4 maheenay baad moo dikhayea ga bus apnay 13 lakh rupay chor ker jayien).
So after seeing those disappointing faces i started to look for a silver VXL variant on pakwheels.com. The main reason of not booking the car and buying it on OWN is because in this summer heat i wanted a car badly for city use and also due to Dollar being Charlize theron and me being basically (ME) might aswell NOT keep PKR in account and just buy the car on OWN as sooner or later the prices will go UP.
Found one in bahawalpur which was practically not accessible for someone who lives in Islamabad. Found another one in Lahore but that guy was (the hole wali gali) who i offered premium own money which was basically his demand (13.60) but he then confused why are you paying me what i demanded that means my car is worth more thn this he said i am not selling maybe next week. LOOOOOOOOOOOOL
With a soooja hoa face i started to search pakwheels.com again and found uncle jee in DHA pindi asking was PKR 14.10. With a heavy heart i called and spoke to him. Sounded like a shadeed lalchi insan (ofcourse guy is asking 1 lakh 50k own (he booked in april so costed himi 12.50) i will definately call him lalchi).
Went to his house begged a little, begged a little more and more (did not do anything unethical if thats what you are thinking) and deal settled for PKR 13.35 Alhamdullilah.
Drum Rollllsssss:------
Right so after wasting your precious 5 minutes, the actual review of the car starts from here:
Exterior:- The first look on the car brings out alot of extreme behavior. You either Love it or you HATE it. There is nothing in between. The front of a car (let me say it please) is similar to Dodge Charger but the real make or brake of this car is the back which is similar to of a baboon with red buttocks (in this case its silver). Washed the car yesterday, SUPER EASY to clean. Water just flows down itself because everything is flat no curves whatsoever. Oh btw letme mention here the aerodynamics of the car though looks very basic it does not swivel when a car or bus passes at speeds of 100+ (I will double check this on motorway)
Interior: So here is what you get real value for money, you open the door and enter into a mouse and once you get in you realise this goddamn mouse is actually an elephant.
Believe me words CANNOT describe how spacious this car is from the inside. It is absolutely insance. Japanese creativity at its finest. They slimmed down the door panels. made the dashboard look cool yet tiny so you feel more roomy, the rear seat is moved back. I am 5 ft 9 and i drive with reasonable amount of space in front driving seat, i asked my friend who is 6ft to sit behind me and without moving the front seat he was comfortably sitting in the back without poking his GODAY in my back.
(Panel Quality): to me the finishing of this car is top notch far far better thn new cultus, the pillar covers of the car from the inside are fitted so well they almost look part of the dashboard. I do have reservation on a odd box/separate huge pocket to hold your phone of wallet but its plastic is absolute LOTA. will mark it in the picture. The dashboard itself is SUPER well made, great to details, a simple wipe of Meguires Ultimate Interior Detailer bring out its true colour and shine.
The Cluster meter got no RPM, does have a really cool LCD which displays fuel, speed, Live constant fuel consumption in Km/L , Avg Km/L, Trip A, Trip B and finally has setting where you can change security settings/Indicator settings/Door setting (will get back to it later on).
The most beautiful thing is Lane change indicators, you tap the indicator stalk once the indicator blinks thrice and shuts down itself. really really handy and useful in city driving i appreciated the same feature in New Cultus and great to have the same in this one.
The car has a utility hook just underneath the Glove box where you can hang your shizz to the max extent of 1KG.
Talking about glove box. guess whats behind it?
AC CABIN AIRFILTER super needed in pakistani conditions but always ignored by pakistani manufacturers but FINALLY they have realized that filters are good mitti is bad.
Touchscreen Panel: OK ill be honest, the touchscreen is good and in the same fashion very bad.
Its good because its touch is very responsive, its not slow it does the job, BT works like a charm. Answering calls over bluetooth is super easy and the sound quality is great. The bad thing is the Touch buttons of the panel. The dial type volume control is more convenient as you can turn the vol up or down without looking but the touch buttons are super super uncomfortable though they are responsive but one has to find them.
The car has auto window up and down for driver side. Rest are all on push power windows. Windows can be locked. Retractable mirrors and power mirrors makes it super convenient. (i always fold them whenever i park the car).
The car has no stupney, it does have a pump and puncture repair kit same as JDM cars and it should do the job. The space of a stupney is utilised for rear passengers buttocks which give them added legroom.
Performance:
Its a 660cc R06 Engine (Made in Japan). The engine is so far in last two days been SUPER efficient. its giving 28 Km/L inside islamabad with AC so expect wonders from this car after the 1000KM break in period and specially after 5000KM.
AGS Transmission: Yes its a bit jerky BUT its something you have to get used to it. the harder you press the accelerator the more it revs give the accelerator a little break and its changes the gear itself. Tried Manual mode responds very well and reaching 80Kmph mark quickly (considering a 660cc i will use the term Quickly)
Security the car is equipped with dual aribags which is a first in pakistan for a car less than 1000cc.
Immobiliser is superior to New cultus and Wagon R. When you sit in the car and lock the car with remote the car light blinks 20 times and then immobiliser activates. if you open the car door without the remote the indicators start flashing for 5 second after that the annoying horn starts with ONE high pitch and ONE low pitch sound which is deafening lol.
Want to see something not so noticeable but very necessary? Floor mat hooks. The new car comes with Carpet Mats along with front mats hooks. These hooks get position as shown in the picture and look SWEET.
Over the last five years Paksuzuki has evolved and i see most City & Corolla buyers moving to Suzuki cars due to huge price increases and great quality and features being offered by suzuki.
BUT
Chhoonkay PakSuzuki sari zindagi chawal rehna chahta hai. They did not give REAR passengers GRAB HANDLES. there is only one in the whole car and thats on front passenger side. Seriously Suzuki?
BTW where am i supposed to hang ironed clothes or my coat? the hook underneath the glove box :@
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS:-
A1: Never even compare this car to mehran, this car is superior in every aspect to mehran. Please compare it with JDM mira or JDM Move Etc. This car has a smart ECU which trips the AC if you accelerate madly. but if you accelerate like i do the AC wont trip and car in a jiffy with AC on will jump from 60kph to 100kph without hassle. ATM the car needs wheel alignment and balancing done it bubbles and vibrates on 80kph. once done ill update you again.
A2: I will take it to all the heights possible once the first 1000km is over. atm its doing very well and managing inclinations like a charm. Will update once i take it to peer sohawa after 1000km is done.
A3: Well i guess these days the Islamabad tempratures are on MAX. the AC is working superb absolutely no complains. it has 4 blower speeds. I keep using it at 3 but at time 3 become alot and move it down to 2. Though i think i needs black shades for car which will help even more and let me maintain the temprature on blower speed 1. These days my Altis 1.6 2018 also struggles to maintain the temprature and i have to keep it at atleast 2 and most of the times at 3. Keep in mind i just sold my Civic 2011 1.8 last week and moved to Alto from it so not easy to impress but this car is not disappointing me.
Today was a very hot day and car was parked under sun for 2 hours after starting the car AC took 7 minutes exact to make the cabin comfortable.
A4: Yes i have tried accelerating it in desi language bhaagti bilkol theek hai. i repeat DO NOT compare with mehran as its comparable to new cultus only or beyond.
A5: I have tried manual mode of the car too, it does not feel awkward to pull lever up to decrease gear and down for up gear. you get used to it.
A6: Vanity mirror is something i will find in a scrapyard of a used JDM alto, its comes inbuilt with the sunvisor. I do not recomend anything fancy like push start as any shredding of wiring will void the warranty.
A7: Yes rear seats are equally comfortable, amazing legspace. One can only realise its rear legspace when you get inside and sit. I tried sitting did not feel like need of headrest but some might have problem the back of seat height is sufficient.
A8: No i am not planning of installing rims or new tyres. If you install rim make sure they are R13 as per recommended size of OEM. if you act oversmart and put on 15 inch rims warranty gone.
A9: It handles speed breakers, metal cat-eyes beautifully. Handles exactly the same as new cultus. Does not shake at all. Please do not compare this car to mehran. compare this car only with new cultus.
A10: There is no vibrations from the engine or auto tranny. when you slow down you dont feel anything only slight jerks/lag when you are going up in gear that too in auto mode only.
A11: Response to throttle is adequate, i dont expect miracles here neither should you.
A12: I moved from 8th gen civic to new alto, arm rest is missed but to be honest not that much so far. I did went to a shop saw an armrest which beautifully adjusts its base in the rear cupholder does not need any screws either but was for 3000 rupees ill try finding the same in 2000 rupees and install it.
A13: Steering wheel never vibrates or shakes. it was shaking and vibrating at 80kmph speed and above but today i got wheel balancing and alignment done. the car reaches 100 mark instantly and even ate 110 does not vibrate or shake nor there is anything felt on steering.
Suggestions are welcome, please let me know what aspect of the car you want me to review. If you really think there is a need a video review by me is needed DO let me know because i think ALTO does not have much reviews available only Pakwsuzuki Bollywood styled ads on TV.
See below links, this is the exact Alto we are getting in pakistan. VXL has some added features and the VXR probably exactly the same more or less.
https://www.suzuki.co.jp/car/alto_van/
Accessories?
Here is a complete list of accessories compatible with this car. Man i love japanese.
https://www.suzuki.co.jp/accessory_car/alto.html
https://www.suzuki.co.jp/accessory_car/alto/alto.pdf
Following upgrade is must have for me. All four folding grab handles and a Vanity mirror for my better half in the sunvisor.
Picture taken from the above mentioned Accessories list offered by Suzuki Japan. for 5,000 Rupees not bad.