Bike:GS-150 suzuki
Date: March 20, 2020
Day: Friday
Distance: About 300KM
Fuel: 19 Liter (round trip)
Temperature: 6C to 23C
Time: 6:30am to 4:30pm (10 hours with too many stops)
Ek cup chayiee day dain please after finishing my channa chat at Hasanabdal yum bakers. I was sitting there for last 20 minutes though it was quite irregular for me to have a ride through Abbottabad to Hasanabdal without stop in between apart from refueling. Though this patch is beautiful and green but I have done this route thousand times or more than that and importantly I don’t like the ride on GT road. 82 KMs and just me just riding though its not boring but its not a new road and I have taken some pictures to share with you.
I love traveling and I love diversity in culture and languages so imagine my excitement when I came across a treasure of trove of travel and how we feel before during and after we travel. I am Hamza from Abbottabad in my mid thirties, working in a school system and enjoy nature , walk and ride through bit and pieces in Pakistan along with my GS 150 with 26k on clock. I usually don’t do solo ride but some time traveling solo means getting to know the real you and your capabilities. To make this happen I had putt my gear on and decided to go Mianwali through altered route than normal
.As weather we had for last 4 months was likewise icy but this time we have not enjoyed the sunshine. Plenty of rain and gray weather made me to plan a trip, and on top long weekend in Monday 23 March 2020 it was the best time to hit the road to get free of monotony and adore lush green fields and plenteously of sunshine.
After paying bill of proper heavy thick creamy tea I have putted my gear on which I always prefer to wear when go for slightly long ride. Here we hitted the road again and join the main Peshawar Rd from hasanabdal. Very busy though it was just 9 o clock but the traffic was like anything. Lucky me though the schools were off otherwise it might be more difficult for me to ride.
Taking U turn from G.T road to Jhang Road after doing approximately 10 Km to fateh jahng through village of jhang bahatar. It was absolutely new route for me. Till motorway junction it seems quite busy. As soon you cross the motorway junction it become purely topographical. Green lush road and great refreshed sights to observe until I have seen a security checkpoint. Usual questions … Please present your ID card and cause of travel from here. Than I realize that this is not the Punjab police who are enquiring but some other officials asking every single individual about their purpose of visit. In mean time one of official came to me and request me not to take a pictures until you join the main road. No doubt I have become angry but than I realized that there might be some security installments so be a good citizen I have to follow the instruction.
Twists, curves ,bends and downhill steep turns are making it so beautiful however it didn’t last for long when here it become more grand and beautiful which I thought of the pond of water ...Allah ho Akbar it’s a lake. Lake which is surrounded by beautiful woodland and unfortunately I couldn’t stop there because don’t stop sign. But no doubt its glorious undulating view. As soon I have joined the fateh jang road I was looking for some decent place to park my bike and enjoy the cup of tea and take some rest. Basically I was more curious about this lake which I have seen on the way. Than it came into my knowledge that this lake which is now a dam is called shahpur Dam which is located on nandana river which is basically located 10 miles away from the city jang. Local also told me that it is kind of picnic point for locals but sometime due to some reasons officials contain the area for few hours and than open it for locals. However it was not my lucky day in this perspective.
It was about 11:00 am when I have seen a very small café by fateh jang road for a cup of tea and light snack. So I have decided to ask for a proper cup of tea and local made samosa. It was delicious and I would rather say it was quite desired cup of tea. Sooner I realized that this road is quite busy and lot of traffic like busses to BANNU and KOHAT and KARACHI and local transport make this route bit noisy. As soon I have finished my cup of tea and got fresh. I left for fateh jang city. The city which I wanted to knew little bit because of my class fellow who was in my college.
Anyway busy again city and city traffic. Just tried to avoid it and as soon I have crossed the city. Weather was getting pleasant which mean I have rode from 9C from Abbottabad and experiencing 18C . As soon I was riding along traffic becoming thinner and thinner and landscape becoming vast as I have remembered the very phrase
“JAB SAY US NAY SHAIR(city) KO CHORA HAR RASTA SUNSAAN HOWA”
I was enjoying the ride and before reaching the the Jand city I have sneak into garages. The type of massive garges with ample parking place though in our city we have not really such huge fuel garges. Any way went into get fresh and prayed the zhur and then left for cup of coffee with a bar of chocolate. Back on road enjoy the sceneries while riding. And most beautiful roads and landscapes.
After reaching the Jand I went to bank to with draw my cash from bank and left for road the most anticipated road of my trip was 74 KM stretch along side with small streams , green fields, tiny villages, pure food and desi loog.(people).
As I was on the road there was desired in my mind to have a lunch though it wasnot a lunch for sake of lunch it was a desire of lunch for sake of local food I would rather say home cooked food. I saw a small shop right across the road. There were some cattle’s across the road. One of cow was so similar like mine so I just couldnot stop to see the cattle grazing right before me. So, I have parked my bike and right before the very small tea stall lucky me... The young man name Sadaqat was owner of this small tea stall. I have requested him if he could serve me food so he denied as I was aspecting. I have insisted get me something to eat as I am hungry so he brought me a home made daal with proper jug of LASSI and massive tandoori bread. I could not take a photo because I had left my mob on charging at his tea stall. Well enjoyed my lunch under the tree by the road which was more delicious than thing else I have ever had. Fuuny thing is I had finished the jug of Lassi with half bread and half plate of daal curry. Some time I feel that
YEH SAFAR HEEEE!!!!
MERE MANZIL HAI…
I was on the road again after paying which I have to insist a lot. He said I ll take the money only for a tea I am not taking money for food. Love you Pakistanis and hospitality. Anyway jug of lassi and you don’t feel wozzy;;;;;:::: specially when your are riding. This is out of question…ha ha ha
Bends and bows is the right word for the stretch which I was doing. I realized this its start becoming bit hilly and more curvy as soon as you go deep inside towards Mianwali and dead quite like untrodden which make it more eye-catching. I have seen some small sheds along side but not proper village and settlements.
I had plenty of time to reach DaudKhel so I have taken my time and rode with very humble paste. After doing 40 km I have reached one of the second best location of the day. As soon I have taken the sharp turn downward I have seen sign board saying KHABARDAR ! AHISTA CHALLAIN .. what the best I can say OK. I have seen some people sitting on road safety with families and kids. I have parked my bike little far from them and what a astonishing view was right before me. The breeze the view there and road safety blocks there is only one thing less and that was a cup of tea. Mind blowing view of valley because I can see bit and pieces of scattered vallies.
Now crossing the junction of Lakarmaar village I wanted to offer my asar prayer so I was looking for some decent place to park and pray and cup of tea. I have seen very local and small petrol station along the road. I push my bike in the gardage and inquired about bathroom to get fresh and prayer matt to offer my prayer of Asar. In the mean time the guard have seen the registration plate of my bike and told me that he has recently retired from army. He served in Baloch regiment and retired from Abbottabad after completing his service. As soon he told me that I have asked about my friend who is still serving in Army as Major. He stood up and told me that he was his officer and told me lot entheiustcaly and wish if he could talk to him. I just made him call and make him talk to his JAWAN.
That was it and he brought a proper charpai for me to take rest and cup of tea with some l buscuits. It was about 1630HRS when I thought to head off to straight to Daud Khel without no stop. It was about 300 Km and I have done it in good 7 to 8 hours. After his vowing I refused to stay any longer than 45 minutes. It was long break and I have to do about 20 KM more to go. Basically I wanted to reach my destination before maghrib and wanted to enjoy the walk in lush green field with my very old hommie ATTAHULLAH NIAZI not the singer but taper among the friends.
Taking turn towards the mianwali instead of bannu from the T junction. I have reached MAPLE CEMENT SIKANDARABAD (Daud Khel) where I have started following his driver and eventully parked my bike in his (MEHMAN KHANA) guest house. Had a shower change my clothes a had a hot cup of tea and lot of gupshup.
Beautiful trek but lot of sight seeing and views didn’t make me feel tired though it will energize you to explore further. So next plan will in inshallah from Mianwali to Quetta and interior Balochistan and Karachi. If Allah will and sure it will not a solo I will make sure to bring friends together for this like poet said
PICHLAY SAFAR MIE JO KUCH BEETA .. BEET GIYA YARO
AGLA SAFAR JUB TUM KARNA ,, DAIKHO TANHA NA KARNA
(On the way back I took simple straight route from mianwali to chakwaal and Rawalpindi to Abbottabad. Left very early in the morning on Monday and reached home by Mid Day at Abbottabad. Took me 7 hours to reach Abbottabad.)