[QUOTE=supereagle;3918728]Mohtaram Hamza Sahib,
Your situation is quite alarming. Now the buyer will only get the custom's duty and not the original amount. I think you will be able to file a class action in court. Maybe a lawyer will be able to tell you better.
When I was about to go for an Amnesty Scheme vehicle my car dealer told me not to and quoted one example about a 2012 Land Cruiser out of that scheme parked in Islamabad and the owner was demanding Rs. 5 million for it (Rs. 50 lac). The market value of the car was Rs 10 million (Rs. 1 Crore). No buyer showed up who would take the vehicle for half the price. It is still parked in Islamabad. Now it will be impounded by the state. Even I would not have gone for it despite it being half the market-price. I smelt rat and that turned out to be the case.
I do understand your frustration. We all should stay away from any such unlawful practices as they only bring bother. Zardari government is gone after plundering and mismanaging the country and now in case of the Vehicle Amnesty Scheme the owners of such vehicles are left alone to face the music.
Thanks and take care.[/QUOTE]
Sir my point is that the supreme court gave the government the directive to go ahead with the amnesty scheme. If someone felt that the government could have earned 25 billion instead of 16 billion by registering regular cars, then this feasibility should have been brought in consideration beforehand. I knew that the vehicle was smuggled, but the reason I bought it was that the government was announcing that it was going to legalize the vehicle by paying the fine, which is why i bought it.
So if, all of a sudden, the court feels that the process had loopholes, then it should go after the people who misused the system to their own advantage, rather than someone who paid the proper amount for the vehicle.