Well in my opinion whatever is done is done but frankly speaking now this car will keep on educating you more and more everyday by having in touch with this same mechanic of yours, since he has come to know that you do not know anything about this car, you have been already ripped off, and since this car was initially infected so even he can make up problems by himself, moreover due to your honest nature he will keep making money out of you everyday, yesterday it was gear, today it is self, and tomorrow it will be whole engine. The amount which you have quoted i.e. a whooping 1 lac rupees for just gear replacement is insane, one gets a whole new engine replaced in that amount, your mechanic is just like "chalo agar parsad bat he rha ha toh mein bhi khaa leta hun". Therefore I would give you a practical suggestion to just let this car go off and whatever money you get out of it buy a brand new car, even if you get your hands on a smaller one, but since your experience with cars is not much, you should have bought a brand new car initially, anyhow time to rectify the mess.