no need to think, definitely fuel will be injected into wrong cylinder at wrong time. now listen to this story of three cylinder car, its a chevy classic 2005 i guess, a year can be up or down, owned by immediate neighbor and ex-boss, purchased second hand with CEL ON and rear wheel hubs running hard, only thing bad other than that was it took long cranks to start, at purchase time ok chalta hai yaar. when it came to get things sorted after couple of months culprit for CEL was found to be wrong sequence of injector grips, result CEL which was permanently ON was gone, ( this was the reason i said that i doubt little that this is the case with poster ) and increase in engine power.
now lets sum up, fuel going at bad time, and definitely burning on wrong stroke, if it ever got burned, we really dont know as car shifts to gas immediately after start, but i think it did get burnt and supplemented lil bit to the other cylinder as what ever we drove the car on petrol it did run but later only after correcting sequence we came to know that earlier engine was under powered, now this was a three cylinder engine, now implement same on a four cylinder engine !!! any ways i know it sounds crazy but thats what happened or perhaps ahmed bhai under take an experiment and let us know