I've been following @vickytulla Waqar Bhai's threads for a while now about off road / ADV bikes and became a huge fan of Zongshe RX-3 mainly because it's the best value for your money. Unfortunately, I couldn't find any Zongshen here in Canada. I have had a few roads bikes, but always wanted to try a dual sport or an ADV bike. I had a few bikes in my mind / budget such as Kawasaki KLR650 (good for long distance, this bike has a history. it's literally a donkey..), Kawasaki KLX 250 (one of my friend's has this bike. I tried it last month and absolutely loved it, super light weight and simple machine), Yamaha WR250 (I've read some really good reviews about this bike, Yamaha bas naam hi kafi hai). But then I came across an amazing deal. Initially I was looking for a used bike, but this deal on my new bike was a steal!!
It's a 2016 KTM 690 Enduro R. Although year is 2016 but it's a brand new bike. They just wanted to clear the old stock and I got an amazing deal on it. It's a big bike, technically still a dual sport but some people categorize it an ADV just because of the engine size. Even though I've been riding motorcycle for years (my first bike was Yamaha YB100 2 stroke) but off roading is a whole different level. I am sure Waqar Bhai and some other skilled off-road bikers would agree with me. No matter how skilled you're on a road bike but trust me off road is a different game. It did challenged me on a few occasions. Dual sport generally are taller than road bikes. I'm forced to tippy-toe on this tall bike (35.8 in); I'm 5' 8". New riders would definitely be nervous at first but i did manage it due to my road bike experience aur thori buhat bachpan main jaise QAINCHI cycle chalate thay Sohrab wali oopar charhnay ke liye
But the power / torque is insane for an off road machine. I did go on a ride with a friend of mine (who owns a Kawasaki KLX250) and encountered a few ooo ssshshiiiittt / o pennnn di siri moments lol
Anyways it was FUN!! it's a whole different world .. . A few modifications i need to do are 1) hand guards 2) skid plate to begin with ..eventually the plan is to turn this bike into an ADV for longer distances once i get some experience on rough terrain.
I will post some pictures later on
==============================
Eid Muabarak everyone!!