Yes your observation is absolutely correct, it may hamper back seat passenger but it can still accommodate three medium size adults. A 5 seater by every means.
I bought a Gli Auto last year, found it to be the worst car in my garage... it had a very bad pick up, very ugly dash board, its meter looked like a 20 year old car... i wonder why people even call it a car... even on the outside its stripped... no side skirt... no alloy wheels... no Drls.... it swung like a drunk buffalo if ever you reach 130 kmph....
Yaris Ativ X on the contrary is quite better, i have seen it and believe me it looks like an International standard car. Even the 1.3 variant has a bigger engine than the Gli... yes it is 1330cc or something while gli had 1299cc which was under capacity...
BTW i still do have 2 Corollas in my garage... i love them like every other corolla owner... lekin it does not mean trashing all other cars... its is very lame to say that every other car out there is bogus and my car is super duper... be realistic!
BRV was a great entry in economy 7 seater MPV section. It was not successful in the beginning, after honda brought in the Manual Variant it started to sell... the sales went up considerably...
Things are changing, people want justified specification cars, Gli will reduce to rent a car people car... jo sirf barat per chalein gi... phool lega kay... acha hay slow speed per phool bhi nahi utrein gay uskay