spitfire you always give the most entertaining thread in pakwheels. no one else is even one percent of what you give to us
Height of perfection Rehman Bhai!
Thank you so much Sardar Sahib .....Obliged..
Thank you Ansar Bhai...more on the way......:)...
Proud Owner of this under construction Herald convertible My son MASHALLAH....
Another view of right rear side after removal of the big panel....also notice that end of inner wheels arch was attempted some time by some previous owner but badly done..
And right side......RUSt ...Rust...and only Rust....again notice that we did not disturb the location of body to chassis clamp on this side as well...and left it intact....
Another view of the left side ....telling the same sad story of wheel inner arch and surrounding area containing rust and paper like metal...
Front side of the removed Panel was "turned over" and spot welded on the front vertical panel....That turned over piece is being removed with this very sharp and tempered chisel....Hand brake clamp is hanging as well...
Previous poor repair of wheel arch is in pathetic shape...One important thing ....the base of "B POST" pillar is also rusted and broken ....and was hidden by Steel putty and paint by some previous owner.....This B POST is very important because it holds a good amount of weight and "PULL" of convertible folding roof...
View from another angle.....
Rusted vertical plate which joins rear floors with the panel we removed....
Ustaad zahid working and my son watching the activity..
Remaining "LOOP" of the previous panel is almost removed....
Mashallah another rescue. Herald is my all time favourite. Rut jawani kub aye gi to hehehe
Sent from my SPH-D710 using PW Forums mobile app
Another view.....
And here we are......Removed Original but extremely rusted panel as you can see....from most of the places it was "paper thin"...There was no point of doing Patch work on it ...so we decided to replace the whole panel which we have already made ..... (have a look at the previous pics)..The hole you see on the top is from where we removed Hand Brake Bracket to be used again...Its a difficult panel to re manufacture in one piece out of 18 gauge steel sheet with hands and simple tool like dolly and hammer......Cutting /removing this much big panel is also very difficult and so to replace with new panel with accuracy....But Ustaad Zahid did it marvelously.....as you know that word "compromise" does not exists in our book of "Restoration"......
Naveed Bhai....Although I love all type of convertible cars ...specially British roadsters and cabrios.... But this particular car is a gift for my son...and only attempting it for this purpose....Trying to accelerate the restoration process ....lets see how long it takes ....but this time we will take the other route...:)...not like two previous spitfire projects....
Is that blue car a Subaru Impreza??
Yes....BADLY HIT from right side probably in a tree or pole during some slide or drift...
Was it that bad that the car had to be stripped of its interior for repairs?Nice restoration btw.
it looks like the paint and filler was holding the car in shape there is so much rust